We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
On the Wallaby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
2 reviews
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Staff was great, especially giving great advice on what to see/do on our road trip! Hostel was clean and homey feeling. Great lodge atmosphere, lots of space to chill out. Hope to come back in the future :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanadianKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
74
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very homey feel to this welcoming hostel. The staff are very friendly and ready to help you with anything. Tour are recommended and lots of fun. Great value for your money. Very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmc717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

On the Wallaby is different from all the other hostels I have seen so far. The set up is very unique, it is super clean and you just feel like being at home. The staff were outstanding! They were extremely helpful while at the same time being super funny guys who made us crack up a number of times. Special thanks to Dave and Damian for their assistance and great sense of humour! We loved the tablelands, too. It’s a great spot for outdoor activities. At On the Wallaby you can rent canoes and go for a really nice canoe tour on Lake Tinaroo. We also went for a nice swim in Lake Echam, had lunch at the tea house at Lake Barrine and went for a hike at Granit Gorge. We had a fantastic time and I can only recommend to everybody spending their holidays in Far North Queensland to check out this hostel in the tablelands.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandH_Paderborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Excellent
-Friendly and helpful staff thanks Tracy you were awesome!
-Exceptionally clean
-Great dinner from the barbie at $12 good value, best dinner I had in Oz.
-The area is beautiful escape the humidity and humanity of Cairns etc
-Lake Eacham is close don't miss it.
-River walk is pleasant
-Affordable
-If only every hostel was half as good as this one, great job!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjf7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

On the Wallaby is by far the best hostel I have stayed at in Australia.The exceptionally friendly staff and the comfortable set up with a lovely personal touch make you feel at home from the very first moment you enter the hostel. Everything is super clean, too. There are lots of nice things to do in and around Yungabarra and you don't even need a car. You can take the bike to go for a swim in Lake Echam or go for a nice hike along the creek. Hope I can go back there soon. While I was staying at On the Wallaby there were quite a few people who had intended to stay for only one night, but ended up staying for a few days or even longer as it is just such a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Not only is it one of the best backpacker resorts I have stayed at, the people are friendly and the rooms are lovely. Cheap and affordable, why would you stay anywhere else? The place has a very nice relaxing vibe. Definitely worth a stay!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shouzu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I did the overnight tour at the on the wallaby lodge and i'm so glad I did! Was picked up from my hostel in Cairns by Sid who took is on a tour around the rainforests in the table lands where there is plenty of opportunities to go swimming in stunning locations before being dropped of at the lodge. We were then greeted by the lovely Tracy who showed us to our very comfortable rooms and was treated to a fantastic home cooked bbq (best home made coleslaw!) the platypus viewing area is a short 10 minute walk away. I decided to do the extra option of night canoeing which I 100% recommend, was one of the best things I did on my travels round oz! We got incredibly lucky with the wildlife (including tree Kangaroos!) the next day we went on a bike trip around the table lands and another canoe trip and our guide Damo and his loveable dog Jed were great! Canoeing with a dog was definitely a first!

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Thank you so much On The Wallaby!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#7 of 7 in Yungaburra
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
#5 of 7 in Yungaburra
72 reviews
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Wallaby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Wallaby Lodge

Property: On the Wallaby Lodge
Address: 34 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly On The Wallaby Backpackers Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — On the Wallaby Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for those who roam... Well presented, excellent value-for-money and warmly welcoming. On the Wallaby lodge is nestled in the hills of the beautiful Atherton Tablelands (1hr from Cairns) and is everything you've ever wanted or imagined budget accommodation could be. Campers and vans also welcome! On the Wallaby also specialises in catering for special interest and study groups. Tours include- Free guided platypus spotting , Wildlife Canoeing, Night Canoeing and Mountain Biking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your On the Wallaby Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing