We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Curtain Fig Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curtain Fig Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Napier
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommend this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

The motel unit was spotless and well appointed. The owner was friendly and helpful. Good value for the tariff charged.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybabynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Urangan, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My teen son and I stayed at Curtain Fig Motel for 5 nights while my daughter participated in a hockey tournament in Atherton.
This motel was fantastic! Bright, clean and fresh with a heritage theme. Our rooms were cleaned, beds made, towels and crockery refreshed every day! It made our week very pleasant. We had a quiet outlook onto a lush garden with a lovely table and chairs out the front under verandah. Our host Colin was very helpful with tourist advice and made us feel very comfortable. It was definitely the nicest motel I have stayed in and will be recommending it to friends and family. A lovely modern pool at the front, and a short walk to cafes, Yungaburra Historic Hotel and general store and in the other direction, the creek where you can quietly view platypus at play, and a lovely Swiss Restaurant which I would highly recommend. Only a 15 minute drive into Atherton, and a good starting point for lots of other tourist attractions. The Curtain Fig Tree is a definite must see. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Collsie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed here on a tour of Oz and were met at the coach stop by the owner of The Curtain Fig Hotel who drove us back to the hotel and was very welcoming. The room was very clean and cool and very well equipped with comfortable beds. She advised us that we should try to see the platypus which live nearby.

Later that afternoon we took her advice and spent an absolutely magical hour or so "platypus watching" at the nearby creek. We sat quietly on a bench all alone just waiting for dusk when the platypus come out and although they never appeared just about everything else did making the most amazing din! -there were fire flies, moths and who knows what else. As we got up to leave, we suddenly realised that there were about 25 other people sitting behind us just quietly drinking it all in as well. It was totally brilliant experience and one of the highlights of our tour.

We then dined at the nearby Swiss House (I think) restaurant which was excellent.

Although we only stayed here for one night in order to see the Undarra Lava Tubes next day, we wished we had spent more time here and would love to return someday,

Thanks for the memory.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, fiendly welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheddyeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2007

The Curtain Fig Motel is a great place to stay whilst travelling through the Tablelands. It was clean and the rooms are a decent size. They even provided a breakfast which we weren't expecting. This motel is good vale for money.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious for a Motel
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel_TCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curtain Fig Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Fig Motel

Property: Curtain Fig Motel
Address: 28 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4883, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Curtain Fig Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curtain Fig Motel is an affordable family friendly motel that prides itself on exceptional service - nothing is too much trouble. If we can do it, we will - just ask. We welcome feedback - how can we make your experience better at this price. We are interested in innovation - tell us your idea - nothing is ridiculous!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Curtain Fig Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing