We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left early after one night!”
Review of Berri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berri Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berri
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Left early after one night!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked an upstairs room direct with hotel but on arrival were put in a downstairs room until we asked to change. Ensuring we got the right room was the only reason I booked direct ($155) rather than on a last minute website ($125). Fail.

Room 145. Broken springs in mattress on one of the beds (bed on left hand side) which I fell off when I sat on it - and barely slept on it. Can you even buy mattresses that bad? Evidently you can.
Slanted down in the middle and off to the side, worse than a sofa bed, lower body on a constant lean and awoke with sore back.
In morning went down to reception and asked if we could leave immediately, checkout a day early. Two lovely ladies were at reception but they just let me checkout early, THEY DID NOT EVEN ASK WHY. If they had asked, I would have given polite feedback about the disaster mattress and not even left this review.

No view of river from balcony which we fought to open - view of what looked like a horse racing track.

How is this called a "resort"? Maybe because they have a pool, cafe, bar, gym? The pool was your standard 1980s motor-inn pool with turf around it. We didn't go in.

Staff were polite, nice people but this was SO FAR from resort standard - this was old motor inn - and not even a good one.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, don't book direct with hotel, you'll get it cheaper on another web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leiah2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBRH, General Manager at Berri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide the disappointment with your recent stay, the mattress in question has been replaced. I have drawn your comments to the attention of the front office manager for future rectification. During 2014 we embarking upon a refurbishment to accommodation areas, hopefully the rooms will be more to your satisfaction in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    95
    45
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
83
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have stayed here multiple times over the years, private and business. Was good once, but has dropped the ball. Great location, good bars and bottle shop-but that's were it ends. The rooms are well past their use by date and looking like it as well. Creaky, wheezy ineffective air con , lights over the bed that you cant read by, lights over the bath room sink you cant shave by, sliding doors on the balconies that do not really slide, shower doors that leak more than they stop. The wifi was a joke-a letter would've been quicker. All the rooms need a massive make over to make this place competitive. I have stayed at other places around the riverland that makes this place look sad-especially at the rate of $155 a night. The fire alarm in my room went off at several times around 4:30 in the morning!!!-batteries were flat apparently-how about changing them on a regular basis? The restaurant in particular was very disappointing-the meals were second rate and made with no effort or pride. The quality of the meals seems directly proportional to who is cooking-chefs or a bunch of kids? I am staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomfromdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBRH, General Manager at Berri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your past loyalty, I am disappointed that you are no longer satisfied with your experience with us. Capital expenditure is a constant battle across our properties but the outside motel areas of the Hotel are due for a facelift this year. I trust you will be happy with the end result when completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for years all on business. It consistently provides a comfortable stay with very friendly staff to greet you at reception and continued within the bar and restaurant facilities.

I always stay in the 3rd block (overlooking the bowling green) as these rooms are the newest that I'm aware of. That said they haven't upgraded the rooms for some 7 plus years since I've been staying here but still remain rather modern and always clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 3rd Block if your not particularly looking for the cheapest room on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronH_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBRH, General Manager at Berri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your loyalty, it is appreciated. THe 3rd Motel Block is in need of a touch up and will be receiving it this year. Last year we refurbished the 14 rooms in the 2nd Motel Block adjacent to the pool, these rooms have come up very nicely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

For a country stay this place has everything to offer. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and well air conditioned. We had a corner room over looking the front to the river. The rooms were very clean and comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was also very nice and a good selection on the menu.

Room Tip: We liked downstairs overlooking the front to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBRH, General Manager at Berri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment positively, it is appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

i stayed here for work. lovely view of the river from my room doorway. room was neat, clean and tidy. bed comfortable. only issue was the sun streams in through the blinds very early!! no sleep ins!! motel style accomodation. located close to
shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachyRach988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to a nice meal at the Berri Resort Bistro and we're charged $4.50 for a small bottle of water. The menu was priced as we would expect to find in a 5 star restaurant. This is far too expensive for a PUB meal in very ordinary decore. You can do better for visitors to you town!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeoffLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBRH, General Manager at Berri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The main meals in the bistro range from $17.50 ( Schnitzel ) to $32.50 ( Boat & Butcher - 300g Scotch Fillet with prawns & scallops ). In between this range there are a choice of 16 other mains averaging between $24 - $26 . I'm afraid I have never eaten in a 5 star restaurant at these prices ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Recently stayed for two nights on ground floor and was surprised by the size of my lovely room. Much bigger than I imagined it would be. Very comfortable, with a good sized bathroom - plenty of hot water. Desk, sofa, chairs and tea and coffee making facilities. The air conditioner was a bit noisy though. Ate at the bistro one night, good food and variety of dishes to choose from. Easy walking to shops, banks etc. and just over the road to the river and great coffee shop. Staff at hotel friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: don't stay in room near the noisy metal stairs. Perhaps some sound reducing material on the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBRH, General Manager at Berri Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed the stay ! Thank you for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berri
11.5 mi away
Renmark Hotel
Renmark Hotel
#2 of 5 in Renmark
174 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barmera Country Club
Barmera Country Club
#1 of 2 in Barmera
77 reviews
7.2 mi away
Renmark Resort
Renmark Resort
#1 of 5 in Renmark
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Loxton Hotel
Loxton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Loxton
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Big River Motor Inn
Big River Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Berri
103 reviews
11.9 mi away
BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berri Hotel

Property: Berri Hotel
Address: Riverview Drive, Berri, South Australia 5343, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Berri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berri Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing