We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and Educational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arkaba Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arkaba Station
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic and Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My partner (now fiancee) organised a trip to Arkaba station over the Easter weekend. The homestead can only be described as understated elegance. It was very comfortable and relaxing. Richard was an amazing chef - he is passionate about food and uses local ingredients from the neighbouring areas to create masterpieces. It was much appreciated as my partner is lactose intolerant but we still enjoyed home made risottos, quiche and even lactose free ice-cream for dessert. Kat and Brendon were very knowledgeable on everything and were superb in organising a very special moment for my partner's proposal. It felt as though we were the only ones there in the midst of the Flinders Ranges and the moment was absolutely magnificent. We were both fascinated to hear Kat's detailed and logical explanations of their conservation direction and have learnt so much from the couple of days we spent there. We would love to go back to enjoy this gem in the Flinders Ranges. The staff were so generous and friendly - this is one special place in SA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orthodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Arkaba Station, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for wonderful feedback. Arkaba is such a special place - as you say, it is a gem and we are passionate about the work that Brendon and Kat and the Arkaba team are pursuing to bring the country back to life with the conservation work we are engaged in on the property and that will only improve the quality of the wilderness experience The news of your engagement raised a cheer around the reservations office in Sydney as well as at Arkaba - congratulations from all of us!
We look forward to welcoming you back - we will be launching our Wild Bush Luxury family programs at Arkaba later this year!

Best wishes and thank you

Charlie Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I got so friendly with Brendan and Kat and they gave me and my brother a really cool birthday meal. Everyday we woke up early to go see the wildlife and stayed out late at night. It wasn't tiring though cause in the afternoon we slept really well and played in the pool. It took me 12 hours to get there from England but I am determined to go again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Arkaba Station, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you had a great birthday at Arkaba. The wildlife experience is really special and now that the property has been transformed from a sheep station to a private conservancy, the wildlife is only going to get better.
I hope you will come back and visit us again.

Best wishes and thank you.

Charlie Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We visited Arkaba Station in January, 2014. Despite it being very hot and not the high season for Arkaba, it was one of the highlights of our trip to Australia. Fantastic property. Hilly. Scenic vistas. Great wildlife - kangaroos, emus, birds. Excellent accomodations. Great meals served by the resident chef. After a day, he ascertained our taste and served our favorite drinks and food without our asking. Kat and Brendon, the resident managers and tour guides, could not have been more gracious, knowledgeable, and enjoyable. We went on range rides in the Landcruiser over fantastic terrain. Sunrise breakfasts, sunset cocktails and appetizers while touring the outback. Not another person in sight. Kat was so informative, it seemed as though she must have PhD's in geology, biology, botany, zoology, history and several other disciplines. Arkaba Station is a special place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was the final leg of our family three week vacation in Oz and what a way to finish! Brendan and Kat were outstanding hosts, Richard was an excellent chef and the location was out of a picture book. The kids (12 year old twins) were amazed with the walks/treks, the geology, the wildlife and the outright adventure. Kat made sure they were engaged and intrigued with great stories, facts and education - Mum & Dad learned a hell of a lot as well. The station itself is wonderful offering the kind of luxury and remoteness you would normally find on safari in Africa. Night time was equally beautiful with a sky full of stars and Kat there to pick out everything from Jupiter to the Milky Way. We are definitely coming back - in fact the kids have already started our to plan our next trip there. Mike & Pauline O'B (London)

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I half wake to check the progress of the moon above me, then snuggle back to sleep. I’m on an open platform in the middle of 26,000 acres of outback, and yet I’m swathed in feather duvet and pillows, utterly comfortable. To be way out in majestic range country yet outrageously pampered, this is the magic of The Arkaba Walk, South Australia.

For three days we’ve been marvelling at this remote orange land. Starting in a natural amphitheatre of mountains, Wilpena Pound, we found our legs striding through a flat, arid interior with weirdly spaced Mallee Gums, sporting multiple trunks and flaking bark. Before long we were walking down deep dessicated creeks, with River Red Gums overhead, and a kaleidoscope of purple, orange and greenish rocks underfoot. (I contemplate becoming an interior designer, just to make colour palettes from these earthy tones). We pass Dr Zeuss grass trees, wide-open tussocklands of medicinal herbs, and see more kangaroos – and skeletons - than we can count.

Each day’s walking ends in a sublime moment –arrival at a new camp. Cooling facecloths, canapes and cold beer are immediate rewards. A long table stands under trees, laid with linen, bottles of South Australian wine and lanterns for our three-course dinner later. But first we find our swag – that blissful canvas-wrapped open-air bed. Our luggage is waiting there, along with fluffy towels.

An open sided stall is our shower. Water has been heated on a fire and hauled up into a tree overhead. Three minutes’ daily lathering seems miraculous in the middle of the wilderness. It sweetens the remaining 23 hours 57 minutes immeasurably. We relax around the firepit before dinner, on proper porcelain, under the stars. Astounding chef-prepared patisseries are served.

Our guides on Arkaba Station are passionate and informative. It emerges that these luxury walks are not so much low-impact tourism, as a source of funding for conservation efforts. Rabbits, goats and foxes are being destroyed so native species can thrive again.

Our small group – never more than ten people on 26,000 acres – move at the pace we like. Our guides stop often to show us the quirky adaptations of the ecosystem we’re in. One moment we’re lifting the flap on the burrow of a trapdoor spider; the next we’re smelling the amber of an unpromising, spiky shrub.

Outdoors 24/7 in this wild mountain spaciousness with nothing to do but walk and observe, the mind expands markedly. My legs grow firm. The more intimately I know it, the more i love this exotic, rugged terrain.

Three days later, we’re almost sad to arrive at the old Arkaba Homestead, wonderfully stylish though it is. Perhaps the epic Australian landscape has spoiled us for anything manmade?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed for four nights at the beginning of this month. We were not able to do the walk, but Brendan drove us on extensive tours of the property, and went out of his way to ensure that we got the chance to get "that" photo of the Ranges. We cannot speak highly enough of the attention to detail that went in to making our stay such a great experience - from Richard's welcoming chais through to Brendan's ensuring that the motel that we were staying at on the night that we left had its sports channel switched to the NZ/France rugby test.
Our bedroom in the homestead was quiet and comfortable, the library, with its log burner, was a cosy retreat, and the lambswool-covered hotties placed in our bed by Richard each evening while we were enjoying his superb dinners made a delightful end to each day.
The meals provided by Richard were wonderful, and he was generous in sharing his culinary knowledge, skills and recipes. The location, facilities and people involved would make this an ideal place for a 2-3 day "cooking experience".
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This Arkaba Adventure was amazing. 6 girlfriends did the 4 day walk/hike. We had the best time!
Brendan and Kat were so helpful and knowledgable and truly enyoyed their jobs. Richard fed us very
well indeed! The history of the surrounding area and the colours before,during and after our walk
were eye opening!! Around every corner was something fascinating!
What a backyard to explore!
Sleeping out in the swags was an experience!! Especially with the little treat of the hot waterbottle
when you got inside!
I do hope to return to this beautiful property in the future!
THANK YOU for sharing your backyard!
Karen

Room Tip: Rooms are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
7.0 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
14.5 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.8 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaba Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaba Station

Property: Arkaba Station
Address: Wilpena Road | Near Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkaba Station 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkaba is a 60,000 acre private conservancy set in the heart of the Flinders Ranges. With just five rooms the Arkaba homestead is an oasis of comfort and style amidst a harsh and rugged landscape, where guests enjoy a taste of classic Australian country hospitality. The Flinders Ranges is in a class of its own for taking in the sheer size and scale of Australia's outback offering the chance to immerse oneself in 600 million years of geological history. Arkaba's conservation management program has seen a transformation in bird and mammal species on the property and offers guests a unique insight to the challenges that Australia faces in saving its unique and diverse natural heritage. Activities include bush walking, photography, safari drives, visiting ancient Aboriginal sites, or just soaking up the sights and sounds of the bush. Enjoy bush picnics underneath magnificent River Red gums, track native wildlife, learn the stories of early European settlement or take a scenic flight over Wilpena Pound and the salt pans of Lake Torrens. The real luxury at Arkaba comes in sharing this spectacular conservancy with just a handful of other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arkaba Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing