We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, loved it, loved it!”
Review of Cockle Train

Cockle Train
Ranked #3 of 10 Tours in Goolwa
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it, loved it!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'm a steam train lover thanks to my Dad but this was a true highlight of our stay in the area. The carriages and the loco were nostalgic and the staff were friendly and knowledgable about all things train and touristy in the area. The train runs right along the beach for a good section of it between Port Elliot and Victor Harbor and this is by far the best bit. For the money you get a long ride and you can stick your head out the carriage window and enjoy the ride (cinders in the eye and all). Great family fun but I think this is a great way to get around the area for everyone. We caught the train to the Goolway brewery and had a few drinks and didn't need to worry about drying back. Great fun!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good trip with great views”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

On visiting Victor Harbor we decided to go on the Cockle Line train to Goolwa.
This line is run by dedicated voluntary enthusiasts, from drivers, guards, ticket office, shops and track maintenance. The carriages are normally pulled by a diesel unit, however at certain times of the year, they have the added attraction of a steam train. I understand that a steamer could be on line for the Easter period, high days and holiday season. If you are steam enthusiasts I suggest you make contact prior to your visit to confirm. However, the ride is enjoyable with lovely views of the countryside and beaches.
The service starts and end at Goolwa, so it’s important to get the times right, otherwise you could be stranded if you intended to make the return journey!!. Nice ride.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koondrook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great trip, even without the steam engine”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We traveled from Victor Harbor to Goolwa and return on the Cockle train. We were hoping that as the weather had turned cooler that the train would be towed by their steam engine, but not to be. The country around the track was still very dry in spite of the rain so the risk of starting a fire was too great. The restored 1960 model diesel rail motor towed the restored carriages and it was still a fantastic trip along the coast and back again. The Goolwa market runs on Sundays and it is right adjacent to the station where you get dropped off. We wandered up the main street of Goolwa and found that the Goolwa Hotel has a $12 two course roast for lunch. Excellent value especially in light of the fact that you can serve yourself to vegetables or salad as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great nostalgic trip.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A great steam train ride for the steam enthusiast, along the old line to Goolwa via the coast and return. Take a look around Goolwa and take the later ride back to Victor Harbour. Takes you back in time, and a great piece of history has been restored to a magnificent sight. Good to see the people waving as you go steaming by. All manned by very friendly volunteers with an excellent commentary. A must if you visit Victor Harbour and the Duke of Edinburgh is running. Facilities available at the station.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We went on the victor harbor to goolwa and return trip. Got the might duke of Edinburgh steam loco. Great trip. Make sure you get on the beach side of the rail cars to enjoy the view which is pretty speccy along the beaches. Kids loved it! Will go again next time we are down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Honu_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cockle Train also viewed

 
Goolwa, South Australia
 

Been to Cockle Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing