We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Goolwa(Goolwa)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Anchorage Hotel(Victor Harbor)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    Victor Harbor City Inn(Victor Harbor)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Apollon Motor Inn(Victor Harbor)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Hotel Victor(Victor Harbor)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (173)
    Filter reviews
    173 results
    Traveller rating
    164
    5
    1
    0
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    164
    5
    1
    0
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscaptain's retreatprivate deckattention to detailthe kitchenlittle extrasriver retreatbeautiful place to stayperfect retreatgenerous provisionsport elliotfelt like homeperfect hostsrecently spent nightsstocked fridgeoverlooking the waterget awayhighly recommend this property
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    101 - 106 of 173 reviews
    Reviewed 22 April 2014

    Such a relaxing and homely environment to simply chill out. We enjoyed our two nights in the boat house and spent our time reading, walking along the foreshore, strolling into town for coffee and a day trip to Port Elliot/Victor Habour (about 20 mins drive away). Phil and Wendy are the perfect hosts. They truly treat you like a valued guest and not another transaction! We have stayed at many other relaxing places inc Yarra Valley, Hunter Valley, Metung and Daylesford and this is up there with the best of them. Thanks again to the Watsons!! :)

    • Stayed: April 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DimSim_10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 April 2014

    Without question one of the best places I've ever stayed in. It was a Boathouse & has been lovingly restored in perfect taste by the Watsons, who live over the road & cater to every need. The spacious one-room apartment has a superb outlook & big deck facing the water. The peace is absolute & precious, so few places can provide such relaxation. You park right outside, the bed is wonderfully comfy & the blackout blinds really make for a restful sleeping environment. The village of Goolwa is a short drive away, with all the shops you could need & is lovely - about 90 mins. drive from Adelaide. And you can use the swimming pool (unheated but v clean) in the companion houses across the road. I can't wait to return.

    Room Tip: There's only one room but there are other houses available across the road.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank oxfordhighschool
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 March 2014

    The boathouse is a picturesque, peaceful and relaxing location with all you require for an indulgent few days, be it simply watching the passing parade of water craft, or scrambling for the bird book to try and identify the unusual variety that has decided to perch 10 metres away.
    Wendy and Phil are unobtrusive but available hosts either for advice or help, in instances such as the need for a replacement gas bottle when raw steaks threaten.
    This was our fourth visit and we will be back.

    Room Tip: The boathouse is one of a kind which is what makes it special
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank GreyJW
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 March 2014

    Every need catered for in this luxury B & B. Fab kitchen with every appliance plus Weber Q in the garden - perfect down to the bottle of white in the 'fridge, smoked salmon and luxury breakfast offerings. Nothing to do but relax and enjoy the river, the birds and the beautiful mineral pool.

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    Thank Beverley W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 March 2014

    We celebrated our first year anniversary at this glorious boathouse.
    When we entered in to the retreat, the music was playing and instantly made us at home.
    This place is so romantic and gorgeous we didn't even bothered going out to dinner.
    They had everything at the finger tip, so we decided to do a BBQ and that's just exactly what we did. We had a romantic evening on both nights we've spent there - how could you miss out on a view like that by going out to dinner, one cannot compromise - they have thought of everything.
    Thank you both Wendy & Phil we shall return.
    It was 'the perfect setting'

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Indixx
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews