We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Northern Lights Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northern Lights Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rugby
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We had 3 adults in one room for $84. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The price included a limited choice, but filling breakfast. It is an Econolodge but there are no signs with that name on the building. A lot of oil workers stay here and were in a large group in the parking lot partying when we got in late. It was a bit daunting but fine once we were in the quiet room. Would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDetloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
7
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Way over priced for what what you get! Even tho there is an Oil boom, they are doing Hwy robbery. They dont tell you that the hotel was built in the 50's, 60's and that they have to mask the smell of the halls by airfreshiners. Internet says pool and hot tub but they dont tell you when you book that it was out of service! I would have stayed 2hrs out and drove in for my appt rather than staying here!
Staff was way to layed back and unfriendly for my taste, I also ate at the connecting resturant and found the food to be over priced for what you get for the area.
I travel all over the US for buisness and stay in major citys at higher class hotels for much less money and better service and quality! Will not recomend this Hotel ! Quit taking advantage of the OIL BOOM!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottineau, North Dakota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

My business associates and I while traveling decided to try out this Restaurant, called
Dakota Farms, of which is in the same building as the Northern Lights Motel. First impression of walking into Restaurant: Table Set-ups appeared to be High Priced Restaurant. We took a table by the Windows. A CLEAN and decorative restaurant. We were greeted by our Waiter within 5 minutes of sitting down. He was a young man, well groomed, and wore appropiate attire for a waiter. He asked for our beverage order, and helped us on suggested entrees. We received our beverages within 10 minutes and 5 minutes later our SALADS. He acted very professional. Our entrees arrived about 15 minutes later, and were distributed properly. I left a
20% TIP, because of the Good Service and Great Food. Restaurant is a Little Pricy for the area, but I guess, because of the so-called oil boom in northwest, North Dakota, and being on the main highway across the entire state, restaurants charge a little bit more. If when driving by, stop in for a pleasant dinning experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abbynormal1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

A behemoth of a non-descript, industrial-looking bldg. that has had renovations inside. huge room (micro and fridge) overlooking giant, clean pool. felt as if i was living in the hull of a huge ship next to the engine room. parking lot filled with pickup trucks. nightly rate ($90) reflects the oil boom in the area. one nice surprise-- breakfast voucher at adjacent restaurant included with room. Rugby is Geog. Center of N. Amer.-- cool fact.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed there in August 2012. The hot tub which was attached to the pool had live black centipedes in it. Later in the middle of the night found out our room had more black centipedes in it. Complained to the front desk and was told we the manager didn't work that weekend so had to call long distanced from home during the week. Manager never returned my call. There was also big spiders in the room but that was probably a good thing as I suppose the eat centipedes. Also so black centipedes in the hall by front enterance towards the restaurant. Both the evening and day time front desk clerks saw them with us so it isn't an unknown problem. Gross, will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have to be honest I wasn't expecting a lot judging from the exterior. The lobby is poorly marked from the exterior. However, the room was very clean and comfy. The bathroom was a little dated but functioned well. I requested a microwave and fridge which were very nice. Price was quite high but it is the only option I would consider in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed there this week, rooms were fine, clean, no musty smell the other motels had, pool was in great shape, offered a free breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. Not a full breakfast, biscuits & gravy, 2 eggs & toast and a beverage which could be anything coffee, juices and milk included.

Car wash across the street, a lot of good things to do and ease of access is a huge plus for staying here and staying in Rugby.

As per usual the staff is what we see and they need to be on the their game, we felt they did a good job. They are what makes us decide on the stay.
The smoking employees out front takes away the welcome mat somewhat.


We will be back for sure.
Enjoy the Geographical Center of North America.

Room Tip: Ground level west side, great parking, less walking traffic, you can sit outside weather permitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WingRider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Northern Lights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Inn

Property: Northern Lights Inn
Address: 306 Highway US 2 East, Rugby, ND 58368
Region: United States > North Dakota > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Lights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Lights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rugby
Econo Lodge Rugby
Rugby Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing