We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great.”
Review of Hahndorf Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hahndorf Old Mill
Ranked #3 of 4 Hahndorf B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a single spa suite out of the way of the busy bistro/bar and had no noise issues.

All staff I came in contact with were absolutely amazing. Obliging and full of information.

The furniture while tired was comfortable and functional. The room was clean with the exception of the carpets and a few hairs in the spa bath.

My main issue were the spiders (one on a single bed not in use!), the inch long crawly worm (a centipede perhaps?) In the bathroom, And various flying insects in the room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Me_538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Hahndorf Old Mill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose to stay in a loft motel room but for $145.00 thought it quite average. Curtains were missing several 'hooks' and the actual rod was bent, down lights not working, therefore unable to sit on lounge to read. Cobwebs on kitchen wall, loud tap noise in shower, water behind the toilet - not sure where it was coming from. All looks very tired for price charged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel in a room at the front overlooking the road. Never again. We had the worst night we've ever had in a hotel. The room itself was fine...fairly spacious with ensuite. The ensuite was clean and with fresh towels and soap. In the room, the bed was comfortable. Our problem was the traffic noise and headlights from passing cars. The curtains on one window didn't cover the window completely so every passing car lit up the room. The windows had a gap where they didn't close together properly so this let in noise from the cars and trucks. There was no double glazing which should have been fitted. It could have been done sympathetically bearing in mind the age of the building. At the end of the passage was a fire door which slammed shut instead of closing gently when guests let it shut on its own. We were glad to leave despite the friendly welcome we received at reeception.

Room Tip: When you book, under no circumstances accept a room in the low 200 numbering. Insist on a room in th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flatcat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

It is a shame about the negative reviews as they are several months old now. We stayed for one night in October after a trip along the great ocean road. This hotel is the best price we found and the staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. You can select a room further back from the main hotel if noise is an issue, we were close to the main hotel but didn't hear any car park noise. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for the price. Luckily I didn't read the reviews first as we may have paid more to go somewhere else. If you want good price accommodation this is it. We also tried the bistro, $15 schnitzel night, all you can eat. Not my favourite but my partner thought it was fantastic, I just don't enjoy the all you can eat type of meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet-PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I are senior citizens and hadn't visited Adelaide together for nearly 42 years. Our youngest daughter was in Adelaide to complete an Intensive Week study at Flinders. We visited the Visitors Centre in Rundle Mall and during inquiries about Hahndorf, the subject of lunch came up. Check out the Old Mill Buffet. Seniors travel free on public transport between 9am and 3pm and free all weekend. Get the 864 from Currie Street and there is a bus stop outside the Old Mill. From the City, the bus runs every half hour and on the return, runs on the hour.

We arrive in Hahndorf about 11.45am and headed for the buffet. It was our lucky day, it was Chewsday, $15 a head, all you can eat. Cold meats, roasts, salads, seafood, Chinese fair, not forgetting the sweets, tea and coffee. Absolutely fantastic delicious. The place was packed, we didn't have a booking but was made welcome if we sat in the bar area.

Later, we brought a few presents for those at home and some post cards.

We left Hahndorf on the 2pm bus, mindful of our travel concession. Our daughter was expected back in Adelaide around 5pm.

A great day in Hahndorf and at the Old Mill Inn. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book early or you may miss out.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zambuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikki M, Guest Relations Manager at Hahndorf Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words and we will certainly pass on to our staff and family owners. The Hahndorf Old Mill Hotel staff endeavour to offer the best possible country hospitality and food in the Adelaide Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I have to agree with earlier comments the rooms are clean but certainly dated. You can literally here your neighbours talking and the water pipes can be heard all throughout the buildings.
If you are a weary traveler be aware that this is a busy hotel, certainly of weekends, the noise from the band and then the drunken patrons who decided to have a party in the car park of the building at midnight was not what we were expecting.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikki M, Guest Relations Manager at Hahndorf Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback. With respect to unruly patrons outside , there is always the opportunity to advise staff on the occasion as the bar is manned until 1.30 am. We are a family operated venue offering clean and comfortable accommodation and are priced accordingly.
We also offer higher priced accommodation in our Austrian style village at the rear of the hotel including Single and Double Spa Chalets and two storey Mezzanine Spa Chalets with cooking facilities. These offer a secluded and ambient setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My partner and I attended an event in Hahndorf this week, and so chose to stay overnight at the Old Mill due to it's inexpensive rooms and convenient location. Because we were there for such a short time, we chose a room upstairs in the hotel (smaller and cheaper than the larger spa rooms and family rooms located beyond the car park set back from the hotel in the garden area - we've seen these rooms before, and they look quite nice - basic, but nice).

On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom seemed reasonably new and clean, the television was a good size and had good reception, and the cute little window (emphasis on 'little') had a nice view of the main street in Hahndorf. The room was also surprisingly quiet, despite being in the hotel. The painted white bricks and beams also gave a bit of rustic charm to the room.

On the down side, the carpet really needs a steam clean, the furniture was outdated and scratched, the small dining table was wobbly, the fly screen was completely falling away from the window (thank goodness there were no mosquitos about that night), the lamp shade was detached on one side of the frame, and the airconditioning unit was NOISY, clunky, and you couldn't change the temperature setting. While most accommodations have information in their rooms about the hotel, breakfast or dining options, and the local area, there was no such information in our room at the Old Mill. Disappointing, and made breakfast a non-event.

Would we stay here again? Maybe. At $95 it was almost half the price of other motel accommodaiton in the area. And if you're just there for a short time, the little issues aren't really too bad, especially if you know what to expect. And the service by the staff was excellent, they're all incredibly friendly and helpful. But if we stay in Hahndorf again, we'd probably pay more to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before booking, and select the room with the quietest air-con!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kara2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikki M, Guest Relations Manager at Hahndorf Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We take your concerns onboard and attempt to rectify the issues a we are made aware.
We are extremely proud of our staff offering good old fashioned country hospitality and services as we are a Family owned and operated hotel.
We also offer higher priced accommodation in our Austrian styled village at the rear of the hotel, including Single and Double Spa Chalets and two storey Mezzanine Spa Chalets with cooking facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahndorf
0.2 mi away
Hahndorf Motel
Hahndorf Motel
#5 of 5 in Hahndorf
80 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Hahndorf
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahndorf Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahndorf Old Mill

Address: 98 Main St.,, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hahndorf
Price Range: £40 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahndorf Old Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hahndorf Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing