We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge establishment!”
Review of The Hahndorf Inn

The Hahndorf Inn
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque Adelaide Hill's village of Hahndorf the Hahndorf Inn Hotel has a rich combination of history & hospitality.Built in 1863, the hotel has retained many of its original features in "picture postcard" style.Open 7 days and serving breakfast 8:30am to 10am and meals from 11am through to 9pm, The Hahndorf Inn is a great meeting place for friends.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Huge establishment!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We lunched here during a day trip to Handorf. I was utterly shocked when we got inside at the sheer size of the place and volume of people. It was enormous and frantic.
Clearly being busy was the norm for this place and it ran to clock work. We were hustled to the first available table and had a bit of a wait before our order was taken.
Lunch was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. I probably would have chosen somewhere smaller had I realised how big it was before being taken to our table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    309
    107
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited Hahndorf Inn for dinner and it did not disappoint us. Food and beer were excellent. It's a must go restaurant when you are in Hahndorf.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhuaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“very authentic”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have eaten in Germany hundreds of times and could easily have imagined being back there. The food was excellent and was the highlight. The decor was good and the service was the same. The facade is being renovated, keeping the heritage style and so it is easy to walk past.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I felt like I was back in Germany!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The first thing I noticed and loved about this place, was once I sat down it felt like I was back in Germany! Absolutely amazing atmosphere.

The service was good, our initial waiter was on the ball and very efficient. However after he had finished for the night there were not many waiters. So my partner went up to the counter to order dessert.

The food was nice. The only vegetarian option was the vegetarian strudel. As it is a German restaurant, this is totally understandable. Anyway, this was cooked well. Crispy shell with nicely spiced vegetables inside. The tomato relish with it was great, spicy and hot.

My partner had the steak, cooked medium rare with a serve of vegetables and salad. The meal size was very generous. He said the steak was cooked well. However, some of the vegetables were a bit raw.

The menu options are great for meat eaters and my overall experience was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best pretzel I ever had”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went here as part of the tour to have a free beer or tea. Then we decided to order a duo german sausage served with potato and pretzel. They're yum! I love tge pretzel. So soft and a bit chewy, reminded me when I lived in America. I could eat hundred of them. We would definitly come back to try other food. They're look yummy. Too bad, we're so full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-and-Mrs-Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hahndorf Inn also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Hahndorf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing