We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bush setting and excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent two nights atRawnsley Park Station caravan Park. The setting wasless formal than a normal park and in keeping with the surroundings and the facilities were very modern and clean. Most necessities were available at the caravan park store at easonable prices. view from our site to the southern wall of Wilpena Pound were stunning. This station also offers a variety of accommodation and a restaurant. Many lovely walks in the immediate region and flights over the Pound are also available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked for four nights and stayed for five.......amenities very clean, staff very helpful. We had powered sites, we didn't expect grassed sites, so were not disappointed by the gravel. Limited phone and Internet service but not sure you should expect all the mod cons at places like Rawnsley. We loved our time there, fantastic views of Wilpena Pound. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdballarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Absolutely beautiful place, lots to see, park itself is clean but don' expect any grassed sites, only gravel, the sites are large, make sure you get a site that not is up the hill.
Make sure that you have all the food you require for your stay, otherwise things get rather expensive to purchase, not too bad though

Room Tip: This is a comment about the caravan sites, make sure you take a fly net
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very well run establishment with clean, well-maintained amenities. All staff were very polite and helpful. The station has a well-stocked general store containing a good range of food and camping provisions, as well as souvenirs. I booked a powered tent site and the only negative regarding this was that the site itself was red dirt and rock. Not an issue re comfort as I had a camp stretcher, but it did pose some issues re hammering in tent pegs. I did have a great view of Wilpena Pound from my tent though which more than made up for this minor issue. Would highly recommend Rawnsley Park Station to anyone who is heading to the Flinders Ranges and will definitely consider staying there again myself when I head back that way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kym G, Manager at Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thanks for your Review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though you had trouble getting your pegs in the ground. I know from experience this ground can be hard so we top our sites with softer materials but this does compact down after a while and make pegging quite hard. Anyway, like you said the views make up for it. Thanks again for your review and I hope to see you back one day with strong pegs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Amenities were very clean and staff were extremely helpful at all times. Very limited mobile phone signal. Sites are gravel making it very dusty in windy conditions. Good walking trails from the caravan park with amazing views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillips2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kym G, Manager at Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Although we have had one of the wettest winters in years we now have a very dry spring which is making a bit of dust around the park so we are trying to improve this by laying more material on the sites. Thanks again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have camped at Rawnsley Park Station probabaly 3-4 times over the past 4 years, and we still love staying there for the relaxed atmosphere, beautiful scenery, good park facilities and very helpful staff who run the park.
There is a restaurant at the beginning of the park, 'The Woolshed' where you can go for a lovely meal and a drink, for a break from camp food!
There is a choice of powered & unpowered camp sites, cabins and eco-cabins.
There are lots of things to do for all ages and abilities and I would recommend you visit sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kym G, Manager at Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your positive review on Rawnsley Park. All our Staff here strive to give all visitors the best experience possible. This way people leave the region planning their next trip back. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had an amazing time at Rawnsley Park. The easier walks for the 'novice' hikers like us who aren't quite as fit as others, were absolutely beautiful, well worth the effort. Even sitting outside the caravan and taking in the incredible views was awe inspiring. Only negative was 'the flies' but a small outlay of $8.00 to buy a fly net to protect your head was money well spent. I agree with other writers though, the views and walks at Wilpena Pound were fantastic but the staff at Wilpena Pound facilities were not at all helpful, quite abrupt and not welcoming at all. Such a shame for such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kym G, Manager at Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for your review. I agree with you about the views from the sites around the park . I have stood on everyone and they all have some sort of view of Rawnsley Bluff which is spectacular at Sunset. The flies are the worst they have been here for many years so they are not normally that bad. I hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
0.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
421 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#9 of 9 in Hawker
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Arkaba
Arkaba
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
69 reviews
19.8 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#2 of 3 in Hawker
15 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hawker Hotel
Hawker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hawker
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park

Address: Wilpena Rd, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Hawker
Price Range: £88 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 30000 acre sheep station just below the spectacular Wilpena Pound. Rawnsley Park Caravan Park offers a unique accommodated or camping experience that will not be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing