We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Evening”
Review of Vasarelli's

Vasarelli's
Reserve with
Vasarelli's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The cellar door and restaurant are a family owned business owned by Maria and Michael Vasarelli, along with their parents, Pat and Vicky Vasarelli. Set in the heart of McLaren Vale, the Vasarelli's have brought to the public a combination of award winning wines and Italian's love for cooking. With recipes passed down from generations, our cuisine ranges from antipasto platters and classic pasta dishes to all organic meats and the freshest seafood. At the very central of our cooking is the insistence that food be fresh & that our chefs are able to work to their own taste, opening the door to infinite variety.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Evening”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On a recent visit to McLarenvale we decided to repay our hosts' generous hospitality with a dinner anywhere of their choice." Vasarelli please ! "It is a comfortable Italian restaurant with the emphasis on food cooked and served by people who obviously enjoy food and sharing it. Maria welcomed us and delicious food and wine flowed -Seafood pasta with generous servings of beautifully cooked seafood-Veal Saltimbocca, tender just like veal should be and a very generous serve of succulent duck. We couldn't think of dessert but....the "boys" somehow managed a sorbet Delicious! The wines were local , very reasonably priced and pronounced excellent by the vigneron at the table ."Family Reserve" Shiraz and "Pasquale's Choice" a Cabernet/Frank /Merlot . PS. We hear that Russell Crowe had chosen to eat there 3-4 months prior while filming in the Flinders Ranges He requested a menu that was not classic Italian but like the true professionals that they are ,Vasarelli's provided and he obviously enjoyed

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 231FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    53
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vasarelli - a family affair”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

You really feel like a welcome family member at this fantastic restaurant - the food is always fantastic and the service second to none.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic, excellent and hospitable”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A 50th birthday was celebrated with a dinner for 20+ at Vasarellis on a busy Saturday night. The whole party enjoyed food and wines of the highest quality, served with absolute excellence by the friendly, attentive and professional young staff. The young woman principally responsible for our group couldn't do enough for us. She helped to make the whole evening a very special occasion!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

On arriving in McLaren Vale, this cellar door cafe is a lovely introduction to the region. Looking for a light lunch, we tried the Calamari and soup of the day. The soup was delightfully fresh (leek and potato) with some crusty bread. The calamari was beautifully cooked and presented, tasted tender and was just right for the occasion. Although an extensive wine list was available, as well as the tastings, we tried the espresso (short and long). In keeping with the high standards, the coffee was robust but smooth with no bitterness and was the perfect end to a lovely meal. The surroundings are elegant in a restored home with high (pressed metal) ceilings, polished wood and intimate tables with white linen tablecloths.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Sensational........A fantastic restaurant, where the service is as good as the food .
Traditional italian food like mamma cooks, and sometimes better but I wouldn't say that to my mum.
Love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pasquale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasarelli's also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Vasarelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing