We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brooklands Heritage B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Port Elliot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Can highly recommend Brooklands. Tucked up in the foothills it is peaceful and beautiful. The cottage has everything you need for a memorable escape. The breakfast provisions were all local quality products and more than enough for breakfast and lunch! So many small touches in each room make it a perfect choice. Great location for exploring the Fleurieu beaches, towns and wineries of McLaren Vale.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

So glad you enjoyed the breakfast provisions! The Fleurieu Peninsula has some marvellous Farmers' Markets and is justly famous for its local food and produce. We are lucky enough to have right on our doorstep the Mount Compass and District Produce and Tourist Trail which runs between the world-renowned McLaren Vale wineries and the beautiful beaches of the southern Fleurieu Peninsula!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Brooklands Heritage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

We spent a fabulous 2 nights at Brooklands recently for our anniversary. Despite being in close proximity to the main house, the cottage was lovely and secluded, and had great views towards the sea.
The cottage was spacious, and beautifully presented, with 2 separate outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the view.
Everything you could think of was included, and the "little extras" made a big difference - music on when we arrived, newspaper on the doorstep each morning, gowns and slippers, and extremely generous breakfast provisions.
We would recommend Brooklands to anyone wanting a romantic weekend away - we certainly wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Much appreciated! We shall be delighted to see you back here again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My wife and I spent our 3rd wedding anniversary at Brooklands and it exceeded all of our expectations. The tranquility of the surrounding hills and stunning views of Encounter Bay were brilliant. The cottage oozes characters and was absolutely perfect for a quiet weekend away! I would happily recommend Brooklands to close friends and family. A truly memorable anniversary! Thankyou Wendy and Tony!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas0n_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed a memorable anniversary in the cottage. The early settlers may have endured many hardships but they chose a marvellous location for their home. It is our good fortune that they built not just for themselves but for future generations! We're delighted, too, that you liked the B&B enough to recommend us to friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The cottage was immaculately presented. We arrived to a warm greeting from Tony. A lovely warm fire and relaxing jazz tunes welcomed us in the lounge. Thoughtful little gestures such as a Birthday card for my husband and a doggy treat for our dog were really appreciated and made us feel very welcome. The views from each window were gorgeous- horses, cows, lovely flowers in the cottage garden, a quaint bird bath and the ocean in the distance. The breakfast provisions were delicious- I had way too many marshmallows toasted on the fire. We had everything we could possibly need or want for a quick getaway. Very comfortable and peaceful- a lovely little retreat that we would certainly recommend to others : )

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumofone0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

We were delighted to have you both as our guests and to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. It's a lovely little cottage for celebrations such as a birthday or anniversary, or just a short break from the frenetic pace of modern life. They certainly knew how (and where) to build in the old days! Thank you so much for taking the time to revue us. We hope to see you here again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Dealing with Tony from the first contact was excellent; he is very professional and helpful. The location is just unbelievable. The view towards the sea is spectacular. The cottage is exactly what is needed for a weekend away, everything you need is supplied, very comfortable and clean (a big plus). The fire in the lounge gives the cottage a comfy atmosphere. The garden is nice and sitting outside on a sunny day with a book will be great, hope to do that soon

There is nothing that we did not love, planning a return visit!!!!!

Room Tip: Ther is only one, and beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

We shall look forward to your return visit! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay enough to want to return. Thank you, too, for your kind words about the cottage, its position, preparation and its hosts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

my husband & I first stayed at Brooklands in 2008, along with our little Bichon, Molly, and since then we've stayed another two times, so obviously our hosts, Tony& Wendy are definately doing something very very right here.
Brooklands is certainly a little piece of paradise away from the hustle & bustle. we love going in the winter months so we can fully enjoy the beautiful log fire, and the cosy warmth it spreads throughout this little cottage. The views are to die for....the gorgeous gorgeous gardens which surround this perfect cottage, and the spectacular panoramic views of the coastline.
The only downfall is.....you have to leave this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage and for the kind words! It gives us great pleasure and is very confirming when guests return time and again to enjoy this unique property and the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Brooklands was recommended by a friend and we are so pleased to have had the pleasure to spend time in this charming 'piece of paradise'. I would recommend this place to everyone, the views are beautiful and we hope to stay again one day. The cottage was spotless and we felt instantly welcome by the personal touches by the owners, Tony and Wendy. Attention to detail in the overall presentation of this B&B is excellent and everything you need and more is supplied. We arrived on a cold night to an open fire, lamps glowing, a loaf of warm bread, and the electric blanket on. Don't miss this one, it's a gem. Thank you Tony and for the chats.

Room Tip: Be prepared to relax and enjoy!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annessay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Many thanks for your review. It is doubly rewarding when guests like our property enough to recommend it to their friends. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elliot
3.4 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites
1.3 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,007 reviews
5.4 mi away
Austiny Bed and Breakfast Accommodation
3.3 mi away
Seascape Retreat
Seascape Retreat
#4 of 11 in Victor Harbor
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Heritage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Heritage B&B

Address: 60 Heysen Rd, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Port Elliot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elliot
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands Heritage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-contained State Heritage listed cottage resonates with the spirit of a bygone age. Unwind in comfort with en-suite double candlelit spa, reverse cycle air conditioning and panoramic sea views. The perfect romantic getaway for two, nestled in 65 acres of farmland an hour from Adelaide, this charming cottage has four main rooms and is surrounded by private landscaped gardens. Silver Medallist in the de-luxe accommodation category of the 2009 SA Tourism Awards. Independently awarded 5 Diamonds by the Australian Accommodation Diamond Rating Scheme, as being luxury accommodation with good facilities and amenities and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Brooklands Heritage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing