We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Criterion Hotel Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quorn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Criterion Hotel Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quorn
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in the motel rooms behind the pub. The rooms were not cleaned prior to our stay - the floors were obviously not vacuumed, bathroom sink had last guest's toothpaste in it and the rubbish bin wasn't even emptied. The rooms are poorly insulated with only a woefully inadequate bar heater provided (and electric blankets on only two out of the six beds between our rooms). The hot water system ran out of water after two people showered. The plumbing was partially blocked. No light bulbs in the bed side lights. Rooms are poorly fitted. We could not even find any staff in the Hotel to complain to, or even accept our key returns!!
Offensive service for the money we paid...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
5
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I was not impressed with the motel rooms at all, the toilet needed a good clean including the windows. The shower did not look clean, the beds were poor quality, the heater was a bar heater type which was unstable on the carpet. Then the microwave dial would come off in your hand and the toaster did not look too good either, Sorry I would and do not recommend this place, eventhough it looked really good on the internet.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank busymum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quorn hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This place is crusty. Needs a good clean. We needed a room for 1 night over a long weekend, I was surprised that at short notice we were able to get a room. Until I saw the room. We found toe or finger nail clippings on the quilt of one of the beds, and chose not to shower there due to the state of the bathroom.
Very poor standard. Only $85 , but still, I believe if you want to do motel accommodation at least keep it clean and maybe modernize it every 20 years or so.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenwortht908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were really disappointed with the cleanliness of this hotel, it really didn't appear to have had a thorough clean in a while. The tap in the bathroom was running constantly, there was a can of insect spray in the room, what for you ask, perhaps for the cockroaches we discovered quite soon after settling in. We decided not to stay, and we received our money back upon request. Hopefully they will clean it up as it could be a good place to stay. Very central.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mystee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

The hotel was good value for the price - small rooms but clean enough and an acceptable breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The main cause of dissatisfaction were the mosquitoes in our rooms. All of us spent a very unpleasant night. Some of us tried killing them others just tried to sleep throught the continuous buzzing. I killed in excess of 20 and still woke up with over 30 bites. The problem was due to the unreachable air vents near the ceilings, which acted as a passage for the mossies from the outside, so we had no chance of escaping them. All the hotel needed to do was fix a fine mesh over the vents to stop the mossies from entering the bedrooms and it would get a much higher rating.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

A weekend get away with friends to historic Quorn. Owner Mick is helpful as are his staff. Excellent food, comfortable beds, quiet central location and terrific value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pdt782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Decent place to stay, nothing spectacularly good or bad.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank seththegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Criterion Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Motel

Property: Criterion Hotel Motel
Address: 18 Railway Tce, Quorn, South Australia 5433, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Quorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing