We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place to stay with a group of friends”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Renmark, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Krystel R
1 review
“The best place to stay with a group of friends”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

India was great to deal with, she responded to emails promptly and provided plenty of information.
When we arrived at Templeton it blew our minds, the photo's do not do it justice. The house is fully equip with everything, and more than you would need for a comfortable stay. The beds are very comfortable, however the pillows a little high for my liking. The outdoor entertaining area was perfect, plenty of seating, fridge space and the two BBQ's made life easier too. Fruit tree are also on site, which we helped ourselves - the oranges and marinades are to die for.

We took our small dog with us and she also loved exploring the spacious grounds.

Overall, we all (10 adults) loved Templeton, we have been talking about it to everyone and will definitely be back.

Thank you for the opportunity to stay at your slice of paradise.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
family138
South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful location with fantastic facilities, a wonderful relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A wonderful location with lots of privacy. The facilities were fantastic, with everything we needed. The house and grounds were neat, tidy and well maintained. Great for large groups and families of older children. We hope to be able to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cl069
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Riverland holiday”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were 2 couples staying for a week plus 1 couple that could only stay for 3 days.
There was plenty of room for 6 people with 2 bathrooms, 6 bedrooms and a very large dining table.
The lounge chairs could comfortably seat 8 people with a large TV and surround sound in the separate lounge/ home theatre.
The outside covered alfresco area had many chairs, 2 large tables, outdoor TV and a big BBQ and weber.
There were also gas heaters for the one night we spent watching the footy while having a BBQ
The kitchen was well equipped with a dish washer and a good supply of basic necessities.
We can highly recommend Templeton to anybody wishing to have a relaxing holiday in very clean accommodation and it is very suitable for 3 couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and quiet - plenty of room for everyone. parking right outside the front door. Rain water.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
190hilary...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“If you want a spacious, well equiped and modern place to stay in peace and quiet look no further.”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Templeton on Murray is just fabulous. It is a really large house with 6 bedrooms all of which are substantial. Very well appointed. I think the owners have thought of everything. If you want to enjoy the peace of the river and don't mind that peace being disturbed by the song of thousands of delightful birds then look no further. We would go back again tomorrow.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make every experience a comfortable and memorable one. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards, Templeton On Murray.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenny13
Clare, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A true country gem!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a magnificent place to stay! With grand parents, parents and grand children, there was sumptous space for everyone! The kids were happily entertained by the play equipment, the manicured gardens and the track to the river. Fishing, fun and lots of space to run and enjoy.
The house is beautifully appointed with little touches of creature comforts everywhere. Beds are great. Plenty of helpful kitchen appliances, plates and cook ware. Patio area is awesome, complete with barbeque and large bar fridge. Very clean and welcoming.
Highly recommend this venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and cleanliness
Liked least: Water at kitchen sink not quite hot enough.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. Many thanks for the comment regarding the hot water in the kitchen- we have now fixed the temperature!

We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Templeton On Murray.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D
Hepburn Springs, Australia
2 reviews
“Wow, the views, the space, the house, I could live here forever!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hardly saw or heard the children who were well occupied. What an amazing 'theatre room.' The patio and 'viewing' stage were perfect for drinks and breakfast. The inside was spacious and well appointed. the beds were so comfortable(I realise now that I do need a new mattress)! Just a short walk or drive to the local brewery which also provided good coffee from 11.00am. I would strongly recommend this venue to large families or groups as it is easy to 'split' groups due to the configuration of the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the views from inside and outside
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay Julie. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,

Templeton On Murray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essbeebee
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best Stay on the Murray”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This extraordinary house is located between Paringa and the Old Customs House. It's perched atop the cliffs above Wilkinson's Cutting and overlooks the Chowilla and Calperum sections of the Bookmark Biosphere as far as the eye can see. The house is very modern and large, with 6 bedrooms in a variety of configurations to suit groups up to 14 people. Three of the rooms have king-sized beds and reports from all were that comfort was excellent.

There is a very generous and well-equipped kitchen with pantry and large pigeon pair fridge/freezer. Spacious living areas are capped off by a theatre room with super-sized TV and Bose surround sound stereo. But the inside is hardly where you'd be, so let's talk about the outside.

Overlooking the river is a massive pergola area, with two very large outdoor tables and very comfy chairs. The area is well served by an industrial scale refrigerator system to satisfy any thirst and a huge stainless BBQ (flat, non-hooded variety) to satisfy any hunger. Another great inclusion is an outdoor gas heater so it's comfortable enough to stay out there when the night time chill hits. There's even a large screen TV out there too.

Outside of that are massive lawns and well kept gardens. They even provide a trampoline and swing set to keep the kids well amused. Pets are allowed (outdoors only) and the pergola makes a nice place for them to hang out - the one we had was a bit of an indoor dog, but he was very happy under the perg.

So, all of that probably sounds enticing enough and I haven't even started on the setting! As mentioned before, the views across the river are simply breathtaking and the place is perfectly positioned to take in the beautiful sunsets. In fact, the orange twilight that lingers on the horizon for ages is stunning, followed by millions of stars.

During the day the garden and surrounding bush are loaded with birds of all kinds. On the inland side you are surrounded by grape vines, and another section of the garden has fruit trees brimming with a great variety of fruit. And then there's the river. This place is perched a good 50 metres or more above the river, so access is by a stairway down to a private beach below. Be warned that the climb back up is quite strenuous and it does test the fitness levels.

Finally, it has to be mentioned that the place is a mere few hundred metres from the fabulous Woolshed Brewery. If you can tear yourself away from the house for long enough then this is a must. A drive out to the historic Customs House at the border is also interesting, as is taking in the sunset at nearby Headings Cliffs lookout.

This is a place where you can arrive and relax. Pretty much everything is done - just buy food, settle in and enjoy. I fact, it's only 20-odd minutes to Renmark, so you don't even need to go through the stress of "buying big" - just decide for the day a drop into town to hunt and gather.

If there's a better place on the river that's also affordable, I don't know it. Brilliant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: The steps down to the river
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thank you so much for the positive feedback in regards to your stay!

We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful time at Templeton On Murray and hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Templeton On Murray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing