We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first stay here, wont be the last.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we stayed in a spa suite, room #30.
This would be the 5th or 6th time i have stayed here.
romantic weekend away over the easter break 2014.

Bedding = comfortable mattress, 4 post bed.
TWO PERSON CORNER SPA <3 love it.
Bathroom/toilet = fair size all necessary amenities including a hair dryer.
BALCONY = nice size relatively private lovely view plenty of room - we cooked with a small gas burner out there too.
Aircon/heater works great.

Cafe - liiitle slow but worth the wait. very tasty food every time i have visited and lovely coffee.

easy walk to the beach, granite island, shops - we even found the cinema.
the staff are very friendly too. i would strongly recommend this place is you prefer a quiet, relaxing, easy going weekend.

Room Tip: the spa suite is worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calo_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

2 nights here and first impression was of one of those old railway hotels you remember from a long ago childhood. It is actually about 100 metres from the station for the steam train that runs 3 times a day to Goolwa. Hallway toilets so presumably some rooms did (or still do) have an external shared bathroom - didn't find out. Probably the longest hallway carpet runner I've ever seen.

Second impression was of a relatively recently modernized hotel room - we had a spa bath room, well lighted with great views over the sea and towards Granite Island. Very comfortable and had everything you want in a 2 day stay room. Large bathroom, comfortable bed and downstairs was probably the only restaurant open in Victor Harbour in April, not that I saw very many others that might open at other times. Probably a couple of the other hotels had a dinner service as well but we didn't try them.

Good modern restaurant with such as bouillabaisse, pork belly and a not bad fish and chips. Steaks looked OK on other tables. As only show in town was very busy both nights so you should probably book. Good wine list and by the glass choices. Friendly folk, would stay again.

Room Tip: Spa room at the front probably best place to be
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This lovely old hotel is right in the centre of Victor Harbour. We stayed in an upstairs room with a balcony and amazing view of the harbour. The room was comfortable with a terrific bathroom with a good sized spa. The best thing about the room is it's charm and character. The bathroom becomes part of the main room when it's bifold doors are opened. You can sit in the spa and look out over the bay. The queen size mattress is a bit hard but actually very comfortable. There is no actual wardrobe but there is a rack to hang clothes attached to the wall. There are drawers and a large chest for storage. Downstairs there is a lovely cafe/restaurant/bar with seating inside and outside. The service and food is good and the prices reasonable. Victor Harbour is a lovely town and this hotel is a real gem.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jockaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in the balcony spa room. Room good size, comfy bed and very clean. As it is a heritage building the decor has that feel, so if you're looking for a modern sleek hotel then this is not the place. We loved the charm of the building, good balance of old world but also modern facilities. The bathroom was beautiful, better than most I have experienced before. No tacky shower curtain, just a lovely shower/spa bath.
Fantastic location, overlooking the sea. Friendly staff. Only thing would say is select your rooms wisely as some have 'shared' facilities and may be a lot smaller than our room. And maybe a net curtain as well as the other curtain, people on the street can see into room if they were to look!
We arrived late on the first night, no dramas to check in and they squeezed us in for a fantastic dinner.

All up, a great place to stay and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller151009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spontaneously decided to head to Victor for the day and decided to stay the night. We got online and checked out our options. From the outside this place really didn't look like much, boy was I wrong. Absolutely beautiful, helpful and friendly staff, meals were sensational and the spa was a great way to end the night. 110% recommend this place to all. Never judge a book by it's cover

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingGypsy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a family birthday lunch for 4 on 15th March & was the first time that we had frequented this establishment & found it to be a most pleasurable experience.
The quality of the meals was very good & found them to be reasonably priced & good value in terms of the amounts per serve.
One issue was that the bill included somebody's breakfast that was not picked up until we returned home to Goolwa & checked the bill. A phone call to the restaurant manageress apologised profusely & immediately offered to refund the overcharge.
This would not deter us from retuning again as all enjoyed our meal & service, but will pay more attention to the final bill

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Anchorage for one night. It was an experience to stay in an '"old"" hotel, which was surprisingly comfortable. We found our room to be clean, a little small (which was expected), but very enjoyable. Eating in the restaurant is a must. Staff and food were fabulous. Would definitely stay here again. A must is a walk around Granite Island and a ride on the horse drawn tram. Quite an experience.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victor Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
130 reviews
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victor Harbor Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Address: 21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests. The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas. Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller. Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week. The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter. Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee. 2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing