We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park
Kerang, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic but clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in a Chalet, the accommodation was what you would expect for the price. It was very clean and comfortable but basic. All the kitchen needs were supplied, and the bed was very comfortable, with more than adequate blankets and pillows. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful If you are looking for 'no frills' accommodation, with just a short drive into the town centre, this is it.

Room Tip: Don't book the unit next to the inflatable 'jumping pillow', unless you have kids with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyJ47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just spent the March Long Weekend on a powered site. Lovely lush green grass on great sized sites.Plenty of room for our big tent, gazebo, trailer and car. Quite full over the weekend but still very quiet in the evenings and no issues with having to wait for showers etc. Very clean facilities and helpful reception staff.

If touring the region again we would most certainly camp here again and bring our little dog with us next time.

H & J

Room Tip: If you need extra space, powered site No. 47 is at the end of the block and is HUGE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I was visiting Victor Harbor alone for a four week stint in the local hospital for university. The staff at the park not only gave me a good deal, but were always super friendly and helpful. The park was lovely and quiet most of the time and any issues were dealt with professionally and quickly.
As for the cabin I stayed in, it was old, but had everything I could need and was great for just me. The large gum nuts dropping onto the roof would be my only complaint, but nothing can be done about that :-) (it can be terrifying in the middle of the night).
Laundry facilities were really good and quick. Also located close to a supermarket and only a short walk from town.
All good!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel747_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First up, all the good stuff. I thought I had booked a park cabin but it turned out it was a one bedroom Holiday Unit. This was fine, in fact we got more room than we originally thought.

Our check in was fast, efficient and friendly and we were allocated Unit 10 within minutes
Then, as soon as we opened the door we were greeted with the stale smell of old tobacco and all the fabrics stank of smoke.

We debated as to whether we should complain and in the end decided to stick with the room and brought all our stuff in from the car. Quite a lot of gear and food as we had been on the road for over a month and had quite a lot.

The unit was Ok in space, one room as you enter a TV lounge with sofa, then a kitchen /dining area. A separate bedroom with double bed and a bathroom shower and loo.

The rear window looked out onto a back grass courtyard.

As there was only one face flannel in the bathroom I went over to the office and asked for another one. ( What is it about only one flannel? Everywhere we went in SA there is only one!
Are we supposed to SHARE a flannel between the two of us?)

The man in the office was only too happy to oblige and immediately raced over to the linen store and got me an extra one. At this point I mentioned the smoke smelly room and he offered to change us straight away. For this I give them top marks......however by now we were well and truly established in the room and while the smell was still there we gave up and lived with it.

BUT, my question is, why should we have had to experience this in the first place! There are clearly signs all over the front door and office and EVERYWHERE advising No Smoking!
Perhaps the 'cleaners' are smokers themselves and having lost their sense of small don't notice it.

The bedroom was particularly bad, the curtains stank and my wife was experiencing runny eyes and felt irritated by it.

The cutting up board in the kitchen should be tossed out. It was dirty and had ingrained grime in the knife cuts all over it. The toaster, when pulled out from the cupboard, still had some food stuck to the side of it. The tiles in the shower were old and had paint peeling and mould in the grout. The rev cycle A/C worked ok but was very noisy.

Normally, I would rate this unit 2 out of 5, but because of the parks office staff being so helpful and willing to change the room etc, I have reluctantly given it 3.

Sorry, but we felt it needs to be called as we found it and not 'gild' the review.

Room Tip: check on their No Smoking policy first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Visited for the Oct long week end. PERFECT !!!
stayed at powered site 3 in our Camper.
The place seemed full (very popular ) was just lovely to meet new people. Children had a lot of fun and also got to meet and make new friends.
BBQ's were always clean, clean toilets and showers.
Play equipment for the kids.
Quad like bikes for the kids or adults to hire to ride around the parks $5 for half hour.
Games room .
Camp Kitchen for when you want something different to BBQ dinners.
Also have a laundry.
Honestly this place has everything.
This place is just beautiful and we love it that much it's the only place we will holiday to.
Mark and the staff are so friendly and will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Check out there web page and you can see what all the rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadina, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just got home from a long weekend. We stayed in a Chalet. It was roomy enough for our family of four and the kids loved the bunk beds. I do however wish we had booked a Villa. They looked far more moden and up to date and for the little bit extra I would have rather spent my money on the Villa.
The price of the Chalet was very affordable and great if you are on a limited budget, with updated kitchen cupboards and bathroom vanity, new tv, great air conditing etc. However the bathroom had a very distinct "old motel room" musty smell and needs to be fully renovated including a paint job, new door (bottom of door was rotten) , shower screen and floor tiles. I did report this to reception on check out and was told they could have sent a cleaner in, however I doubt there was much a cleaner could do, it needs fixing. The sofa in the living area was rather old too and uncomfortable.
The staff were very friendly, good amenties, I used the laundry and was very pleased with the number of available washing machines & dryers.
The park was neat & tidy and the kids loved the playground and jumping pillow which were in very close proximity to our chalet.
overall it was a pleasant stay and we spent most of our time sight seeing, would reccomend it as a budget place to stay and would rate it much higher if the chalet's were updated.

Room Tip: spend the money and book a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Park was very nice good facilities and staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 2 bed cabin it was clean and had good eqipment, slightly dated but for the price very reasonable. Would recommend for familys or friends. Good location, camp kitchen bbq,s and playground for the kids. Overall very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colette287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victor Harbor Beachfront Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park

Property: Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park
Address: Bay Road, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and shady park is located in picturesque Victor Harbor on the South Coast, only an hour's drive from Adelaide. Victor Harbor Holiday & Cabin Park offers accommodation from self-contained Villas, Chalets, Cabins and Units to large Powered and Unpowered grassed sites. The park features a Kiosk and Games room, Camp kitchen/TV room,Free Wi-Fi, Swimming Pool, large children's Playground, Jumping Pillow, Pedal Go-karts, undercover free BBQs, Guest Laundry, Dump Point, LPG refills and Ice. It is located close to the beach and only a short walking distance to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing