We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at Hotel Victor unless prepared to go to court for a refund!”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay at Hotel Victor unless prepared to go to court for a refund!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked the Seaview spa room January 2013 for our anniversary intending to have a meal that evening in the restaurant. The spa did not work, the maintenance person was not available until the next day and the manager was not contactable. This was mid afternoon on a business day. We left and booked into the Country Comfort next door. The manager (David) would not issue a refund. Ended going to the department of consumer affairs who obtained a refund for us. The spa room (only 1) has an extra room with cooking facilities which you cannot use due to health regulation & the bedroom only has a small analogue TV. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Money has been refunded less booking fees. A rather one sided report, I'll leave it at that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    70
    33
    13
    17
See reviews for
33
89
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at Victor Harbor at the Hotel Victor as part of our anniversary trip. We loved it, it was clean and comfortable and the view from our room watching the sunrise over the causeway to Granite Island was an added bonus. Yes the hotel is old and obviously worn in places but the room was serviced daily, the staff were helpful and polite and we slept well. Incidentally the rest of our stay was in 4/5 star hotels in Adelaide so we are quite fussy! We didn't eat in the restaurant but we found the bar staff were also helpful when we stopped in for a drink.

Room Tip: I think it's worth a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your response. It was particularly pleasing to hear your comments on our staff customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldinga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We met friends in Victor Harbour & decided to go to Hotel Victor for a catch up. Our order was taken at the bar by a very disinterested and barely polite bar keep and then we waited for over half an hour for a bowl of chips and a few slices of garlic bread. We graciously said thank you and my friend asked for serviettes and was abruptly told, "you can get them yourself just inside the door." We were so dumbstruck by this lack of common serving courtesy that we all burst out laughing. At least our snack wasn't ruined. The chips, though not piping hot, were quite tasty. The location is central with nice views, however, we probably wouldn't go there again. Customer service is important to the overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victor Harbor hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Hotel Victor ... Reception is friendly and helpful, and we are directed up a steep flight of stairs. There is a mechanized chair lift - but not for luggage we are told. We are booked into a standard room (#16). We have been here before, and find it a good place to stay. The rooms on one side look out over Warland Reserve and can be noisy at weekends. Most rooms on the other side look out over the restaurant roof which is not inspiring. This room has a pretty good view through its window wall, and from the balcony you can just see the sea and the Bluff! However the hotel is right in town, so very convenient. The main room is attractive, a generous size with a comfortable king sized (double single together) bed, and extra blankets and pillows. There is a small table with two whicker chairs, mirror, bedside tables with good lights, clock, telephone, and quiet air conditioner. Nice carpet and built in robe. Generous tea and coffee supplies, kettle, and a fridge full of sale items. The ensuite is slightly strange: walls at funny angles and with an angled partition which separates the handbasin from the toilet/shower, which are themselves separated by a shower curtain. My morning shower is hot with good flow, but the toilet area is cramped. A big positive about this hotel is the Endeavour Restaurant which provides a very tasty three course carvery meal at reasonable cost. Our window table has a sea outlook, and the service is attentive. Our bed and breakfast package includes a large full breakfast, or continental breakfast, in the Norfolk Cafe: again very pleasant with friendly service. We will be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Suggest Rooms 15, 16, 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was the first time we have stayed at the Hotel Victor, we found all the staff very polite and very helpful.

The accommodation was clean and well maintained, the carvery was excellent and great value for money.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your response. It is always good to recieve positive feedback as we strive to provide the best customer service we can.
Look forward to looking after you when you next stay at the Hotel Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Once again we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Victor.
One of the attractions of the hotel is its central location where you can walk to all the sights with
ease. The room was basic but clean with all the necessary amenities. The aircon even survived
42 degrees heat. The beds we found comfortable. I think it is worth paying extra for a seaview room. It was lovely to see the sea and Granite island in the distance and the Norfolk island pines. We even had a David Dridan landscape on the wall which looked an original. The staff
were friendly and helpful.The breakfast was sufficient and the carvery good but a bit pricey compared to the other hotels in town.
We wll return again later this year.

Room Tip: It is worth paying exra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THOMAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Went to Hotel Victor for lunch a few weeks ago after having spent a wonderful morning with our family at the amusement area across the road. Made the decision to have lunch at the Hotel Victor, worst mistake ever. Was served by 'Martin' who was the most rudest man I have ever come across. Taking our simple order clearly inconvenienced him and when I dared to make an alteration he glared at me and made me change my mind as I was so intimidated by him. Food was average, have also stayed there years ago and cut out trip short by 1 night as the rooms were dirty and really werent enjoying our stay at all. Say no more!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kvr7713a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
128 reviews
9.7 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: Albert Place, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor offers 33 quality rooms with ensuite facilities. All rooms offer a secure & comfortable environment for business or pleasure travel.The Hotel Victor is located in the heart of Victor Harbor overlooking Encounter Bay and Granite Island. Sandy beaches, golf tours, spectacular scenery, wildlife and a multitude of attractions and activities are all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing