We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our holiday was booked in December 2012 and we stayed 3 nights (with another couple) October 2013. First impression of booking was not favourable but our friends convinced us to continue with the booking. Glad we did. The hotel was small. Room was reasonably spacious (convenience/shower area was small) and the bed was comfortable. The dining area was large and inviting. There was a choice of 2 soups and we had a carvery each night with an abundance of hot vegies and/or salads. To finish our meal we were treated to a very good selection of deserts (these changed each night) A continental breakfast was had each morning and there was nothing wrong with the selection
The staff of this hotel helped to make our holiday enjoyable. They were very friendly and it is a credit to the management that we considered this hotel to be well worth visiting. We will stay there again if/when we return to Victor Harbor for a holiday.

Room Tip: Only access to accommodation is via a stair case, then a long walk if you happen to have a room way...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed one night, never again. Very poor customer service by ALL staff. Poor manners and "don't care" attitude. Paid just over $140 for a room that was called a king suite (found out later on the invoice).....& the room included breakfast. Thought we were in for a real treat & we'd spoil ourselves as we never get to do this.
Our room was right above loud music that started late & went on. tv was tiny & up high on the wall, not that we were there to watch tv but you couldn't really see it anyway & we are not vision impaired. The room was pretty average, shower was right in front of the toilet (very tiny room/space) & only had a curtain that wasn't long enough therefore impossible not to get water on the floor around the toilet. The room price included "the big breakfast" but you weren't allowed to swap your meal choice for a healthier option..... all other breakfast options were a lot cheaper than the big breakfast so it wasn't like they were losing money or like we were trying to be greedy. Can't emphasise enough how non caring the staff were, even the Manager. We don't travel a lot but have stayed in places a lot less expensive that ran rings around the Hotel Victor in every way. We have both been in the hospitality industry for years & cringed at this!! ALSO - the so called large bed was two single mattresses put together with a bit of a cover over the top. All in all it was a terrible night's sleep & stay.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roadtripfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

It is very disappointing to receive comments such as this one. It is particularly disappointing when the truth is very different from the comments made.
Having spoken to this person and discussed his concerns I am at a loss as to what else we could have done.
I am well aware that the Hotel Victor accommodation will not suit all people, but our customer service and value for money is at the highest level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Booked sea view room which included cooked breakfast. Nice room with a very comfortable bed. Smallish LCD TV on wall and small table and two chairs by window. Shower good size and good water pressure. Room clean had to have air conditioning on as a little bit stuffy. Private function on in main restaurant but not too much noise,
Good breakfast in the morning and overall a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was our first time staying at the Hotel Victor. Stayed for 3 nights (wed - Sat) in room 18 with a view of the reserve and ocean, but not a direct view of the sea. It was located at the end of the hotel which we preferred as it can get busy on Friday night and noisy from the bar below. The room was very clean with two beds pushed together to make king-size bed that was comfortable for us. Bathroom is small, but it is described as an en-suite bathroom so we did not expect it to be large at all, suited us just fine. We had the carvery for two nights which was good, there is a lot of food so one can indulge a bit to much as we did on our first night, second night we cut back big time. Standard breakfast available and one can purchase a hot breakfast if desired. Reception staff Jo and Jane were fantastic and were happy to accommodate our needs. Dining staff Russell and the girls were very nice, polite and helpful. Would defiantly go back when we visit victor Harbor again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your comments, particularly regarding the good service by our staff. It is very pleasing to receive this type of feedback. We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel Victor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Old hotel without lift closing reception at 8 pm. Small room awful bathroom lights not working.I am not recommending it as it was really a bad experience. Hope they are better in the summer season.................;.;;......................

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaraBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your response.
As always, I appreciate all comments on our hotel but in this instance I feel I need to reply to give an accurate picture.
As stated on our website and booking page, all our accommodation is on the first level with access via stairs. We do have a chair lift for those not able to negotiate stairs and we always offer guests assistance with their luggage to their room.
Whilst our reception does close at 8 pm, we direct all reception inquiries and telephone calls to our Norfolk Bar, which is open until 12 midnight.
If the bathroom light was not working I would suggest that possibly the globe was blown, which would have been replaced as soon as we became aware of it.
Rest assured, you will be looked after when you stay at the Hotel Victor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Clean rooms but bring your own toiletries, shampoo, soap etc unless you like dispensers filled with homebrand soaps,shampoos and conditioners. Great views from the room overlooking Granite Island. Nice meals from hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teamDunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback from your stay with us. The subject of toiletries (shampoo, conditioner & soap) has been an item for considerable discussion over some time. Whilst the product we use is a better quality than Homebrand, I do understand that some guest prefer individual packaging for these items. We will continue to monitor guests comments on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We booked 4 nights at the HOTEL VICTOR in May 2013 with an emailed booking printout that confirmed "BED & BREAKFAST SEAVIEW KING". The breakfast inclusion was also confirmed over the telephone. After our first night, we looked forward to our breakfast only to have the staff and manager refuse to include the breakfast in the rate even though I produced the booking printout.

We checked out at 9.30am and by 10am were checked in to the Comfort Inn Victor Harbor - just next door. The Comfort Inn was $15 per night cheaper than the Hotel Victor and the room was much bigger. The Comfort Inn staff were so polite.

The HOTEL VICTOR was far from full occupancy and yet the management was happy to loose $390 (our remaining three nights) rather than honour what was clearly in black and white on the booking printout.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

This customer booked accommodation with the hotel asking for a special rate that we had offered for a Family Reunion at the Hotel a month earlier.
As this booking had nothing to do with the Family Reunion the Hotel staff correctly pointed out to the customer that this special rate was not available. The customer decided not to stay at the Hotel, and we did not apply any late cancellation fee. End of story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage Hotel
The Anchorage Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
130 reviews
9.7 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Address: Albert Place, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor offers 33 quality rooms with ensuite facilities. All rooms offer a secure & comfortable environment for business or pleasure travel.The Hotel Victor is located in the heart of Victor Harbor overlooking Encounter Bay and Granite Island. Sandy beaches, golf tours, spectacular scenery, wildlife and a multitude of attractions and activities are all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing