We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better places for a few dollars more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed in one of the park cabins (standard family @ $95.00 per night), lucky we only booked for 1 night.
The cabin was old and worn out and whilst not unclean it was very grubby (finger marks over the walls etc) - nothing a good spring clean and some TLC wouldn't fix.
Very poor quality considering the price (more of a $60 fishermans cabin)
What else was wrong: Fridge shelves broken, No spare pillows (only 1 each - lucky we had our own), Lovely sign warning of a "cleaning fee" if you didn't wash your dishes, fair enough but at least provide a sponge and a tea towel.

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have stayed at several TopTourist parks and enjoyed the high standards. This one may very well be OK but we never found out because we arrived at 6.15pm to find the office reception closed and a sign telling customers that there is a $50 fee for late arrival. How rude!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed here for one night in a campervan, not knowing what to expect. It was appealing right from the front desk. The owner was very friendly and answered all our questions, inlcuding where we should have dinner, and even gave us a free stubby holder as we told her we would be collecting them along the way.
Shower/toilet block was lovely and very clean with old towels provided as floor mats. This may seem insignificant but its of great help when trying to dress in a wet shower block.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We have recently been on our 1st holiday to Whyalla. We went there not knowing what to expect and immensley enjoyed ourselves. Our accommodation was very clean & supplied all the mod cons. The price was very reasonable. Staff were very friendly and more than helpful, suppying us with upto date tourist information. Our children had a ball on the newly installed Jumping Pillow and playground.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tourinabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CamperMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
2.9 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#1 of 5 in Whyalla
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whyalla Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Whyalla Caravan Park
Whyalla Caravan Park
#5 of 8 in Whyalla
27 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quest Whyalla
Quest Whyalla
#1 of 8 in Whyalla
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alexander Motel
Alexander Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore

Address: Broadbent Terrace, Whyalla, South Australia 5600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Whyalla
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s sunshine aplenty in Whyalla; an average of 300 days per year, in fact. South Australia’s third largest city is a great year-round holiday destination. You’ll find abundant green space and uninterrupted views of beautiful Spencer Gulf at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore. Our caravan park is close to family-friendly swimming beaches and excellent fishing spots. Cast a line into the protected waters of the gulf – Whyalla is known as Australia’s snapper capital. Discover the seafaring past of this rugged shipwreck coast at the Whyalla Maritime Museum. Hear the story behind over 100 years of Australian iron and steelmaking history on OneSteel’s Steelworks Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing