We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very open beachfront sites with no protection from the wind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Certificate of Excellence
Koondrook, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very open beachfront sites with no protection from the wind”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

On arrival I asked if they has room for our 30 foot caravan and the lady indicated only 2 sites that they use for buses. These were right on the beach and very untidy because of the sand blowing in from the beach. We looked around the park and measured out some of their more sheltered sites and found we could fit easily. We were a little unsure so we booked just for 1 night. The amenities were nice and clean and the site worked out very well, just a little off put by the staff not knowing the size of their sites.

Room Tip: If it looks like being windy, don't ask for a beachfront site
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi John, thanks for your review and sharing your feedback - we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    71
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
79
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We have just had a really relaxing four days on one of the beautifully manicured grass sites down on the beach. Great spot for paddle boarding, kayaking & crab hunting! Park amenities were absolutely spotless and we were greeted by very friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. The cabins behind our site looking out the beach look amazing too! Thank you very much and we will definitely recommend to others.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace_sienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for your review and sharing your experience! We're happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this park recently while traveling through SA in our caravan. The site we were allocated backed onto the foreshore, but was full of mounds of sand and seaweed. It was incredibly windy and the sand got everywhere, it was very unpleasant. When we asked if we could move the the nice grass sites over the road we were told "no, they are under maintenance". 2 days later there were people parked on them.

If you stay at this park, I would recommend requesting a grass site at time of booking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John_paul_128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the service you received and will be looking into the issue. Please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryarks.com.au if you wish to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mount Gambier
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many caravan parks, we have returned for a second holiday, I would recommend this park of you have small children they would love it here, as the sea front is right at your front door, they would play for hours when the tide is out. The staff are friendly and helpful, the showers and toilets are clean, the price is reasonable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Roth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your review and sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on way to Port Lincoln and wish we had stayed longer. We had a good sized grassed site which had lovely views, walk straight onto the beach. Great for fishing and fossicking at low tide. Good size grassed sites or on bitumen at sand edge - which might get a little wind blown. Amenities block very clean and spacious. Sites might be a problem for people unable to manage stairs which have to be tackled to get to the amenities block.

Room Tip: When booking confirm proximity to amenities as can be a hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Irene, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Upon arrival we were met by friendly and helpful staff. Offered foreshore site but declined and ended up with an easy access, shaded powered site with concrete pad, opposite clean and well maintained ablution block. No trouble parking the 'van on site. No problems with any permanent residents parking arrangements. Some previous reviews seem to be a bit harsh and and after reading them, we were pleasantly surprised. Recommend this park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Darryl, thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Unlike The Other caravan in town we called into, we were attended to on arrival by a helpful and friendly staff member, one of the great crowd hanging about behind the counter and in the office area. Given the number of admin staff one might have thought there would be a surplus of grounds and cleaning staff, but obviously not. As a Discovery Park, we had expected a higher standard, but really there was nothing to fault it. It just didn't have that X Factor Discovery Parks tend to have. Still we had a good caravan site, easy to access, a good concrete pad, and no problems with anything. Amenities were clean, just not attended to as regularly as the number of staff suggested they might be (the normal scraps of toilet paper around the loo floors - it happens, I know). I think the other reviews have been unfair, and we took the opportunity to sign up to the Discovery loyalty card which immediately gave us a 10% discount. We would happily stay here again if we should bother to stop in Whyalla.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi Bronwyn C, thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback. We appreciate all feedback as we continue to improve the develop the products and services we deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the park should your travels bring your through Whyalla again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
2.9 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#1 of 5 in Whyalla
84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundowner Cabin & Tourist Park
0.4 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
2.5 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Whyalla
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Alexander Motel Whyalla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore

Property: Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Address: Broadbent Terrace, Whyalla, South Australia 5600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing