We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COMFORTABLE BED” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE BED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived sat afternoon and stayed 2 nights, the WEEKENDER Deal we had booked was an upstairs room for $198. Reception gave us Room 1 Ground Level and said that is where Reception has us booked.We didn't mind or argue as we could park our car in front of the room. The room was very clean and we had taken our own pillows expecting the bed and pillows to be uncomfortable SURPRISE it was like being on our own bed GREATComfort! The shower was a delight Plenty of Hot water and High Pressured to use except no exhaust fan switch that we could find. FRIDGE DOOR hits cupboard it's in. We had an Opening window in our room for Fresh air!...Great!
PERCY'S RESTAURANT a little out dated seemed a bit FAULTY TOWERS but clean, the girl& gentleman that served us were polite, the FOOD though was DELICIOUS AND MADE WITH EXPERTISE we both chose the "Fish Basket" forgot what it was called on Menu there were not alot of Vegetarian choices (maybe not alot of Vego's in Whyalla) Gluten Free on Menu which is Good...
We both ate and enjoyed the Taste of this meal ..we wish the Chef was in Adelaide!!
On the day we were leaving the gentleman/manager?? from the restaurant came pass and told us that the room we had been put in was a Superior Room (their doing) so what we saved by being in this room really gave us a free dinner!!!( we paid $68 for dinner ) we felt like to telling him to #@%^$&*..... Be Quite.....
as we had enjoyed our stay and he kept wanting to tell us what a DEAL WE GOT !!!
(perhaps he was excited for us)

Room Tip: Room 1 has no one on one side of you however the Staff Cleaning room is on the other side and you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sienna003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
20
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

There was 6 of us booked in the restaurant we went to the bar asked for a vodka and southern comfort they had none we ordered a meal wanted beef parmy they had no beef snitty wife wanted salt n pepper squid the had none of that ether there the most popular meals and they run out i command the girls working that night they handled it amazingly considering the work environment since new management has taken over that place is really bad never again it was a great place only a month ago

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodservic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellTerry1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We’re truly sorry you had a terrible experience. That day our chef had an operation, then couldn't work or prepare anything for the night and we were absent. A replacement cook was called in to a difficult situation and all the staff put in a sincere effort as you noted and gave free drinks and an explanation. We’re glad the rest of your stay with us was good. Thanks for all your comments. We hope you can forgive this unfortunate exception and try us again and experience the real delight of dining here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed with family, rooms where well maintained and decorated. Noise level was low, i guess there wasn't many people in on the day we stayed. Customer service at reception was top class, in fact the best I have experienced in a long time.
We were looking forward to use the advertised HEATED pool and spa facility, but very disappointed to find out that they are connected to one of those cheaper type of solar heating and would only warm up by afternoon on sunny days.... i believe the Heated swimming pool and spa on their website was misleading.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolfinKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Never having been to Whyalla I was quite looking forward to my stay. I liked the town, but this motel is pretty ordinary and a long way from the centre of town or any attractions. Upon arriving I was greeted by a (male) receptionist who had barely more than 2 words to say and I'm sure would rather grunt than actually speak. The adjacent room had a number of workmen in it who appeared to be having a meeting and I was overwhelmed by all the swearing and cussing going on.
There is a sign in the room that indicates that the rooms are being refurbished, but all I could see that was done was that the bathroom had been re-tiled. All the surrounds were still unfinished. I think there was new furniture in the room, but dark wooden furniture in an already dark room doesn't increase the attractiveness much! As a business traveller I have to work at night - you can't see! There is a desk with no desk lamp, and the overhead lights are virtually useless in lighting the desk, so if you have to work at night, good luck. The cupboard isn't big enough for the fridge and the doors bang together when you try to open the fridge.
Outside is very unappealing and the gardens are unattended and in a poor state. The place looks and feels unloved!

Room Tip: I presume all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagpieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This motel used to be very good for business travellers but its standards have dropped and its prices increased. They have refurbished showers and have left open brickwork all around the shower surround. New fridge in the cupboard is too big for the space and the cupboard door does not shut properly and the hinges on the fringe rub up against the edge of the door damaging the wood. Bed head is loose and bangs up against the wall with the slightest movement. Gardens are all dead. BBQ areas is sadly neglected with weeds and rubbish lying around. Very disappointing and top dollar charged - won't be staying here again!

Room Tip: We can only speak for Room 20 - but I suspect all rooms are in the same state - and the gardens are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaide52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Found this Hotel to be a pleasant suprise whilst nothing special from the outside I was impressed by the room . Stayed in a twin room with family found the room to be of a very good standard ,very clean, with comfortable beds.Everything needed was at hand and TV with DVD was was of great benefit for the children.Definitely would stay in again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southoz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We were in town for an engagement party. Arrived in the afternoon and found reception underwhelming and smelly. With no alternative accommodation available we moved on to see our room and were pleasantly surprised. Quite clean, although there was an artificial smell, possibly el cheapo fly spray, in the room, but it was not too bad. Other rooms were occuped by tradies who were fairly noisy during the afternoon but it was very quiet when we arrived back after midnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
1.9 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Whyalla
Quest Whyalla
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
2.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Airport Whyalla Motel
Airport Whyalla Motel
#4 of 5 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla

Property: BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
Address: 99 Playford Ave, Whyalla, South Australia 5600, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Alexander Motel offers top value Accomodation in Whyalla.Our deluxe rooms are clean and comfortable with the best showers in town. Relax in our pool and sauna and enjoy our FREE WI-FI. Our onsite restaurant is open for breakfast 7 days a week and Dinner Mon-Sat or treat yourself to room service. Great Country Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whyalla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing