We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Its always a good start to have a pleasant and friendly person on the front counter. This was the case here. Rooms were large and well presented, with all expected amenities.
The restaurant offered a good range of reasonably priced meals. The Seniors' breakfast deal added extra value to the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana m, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your appreciation.Your clear review will help future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    27
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
22
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noraville australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

After a long day driving my husband and I were looking forward to a comfortable nights sleep. On checking into our room we found it well above the 3 1/2 star rating, with a queen bed and a spotless interior. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for the night, however, on checking the menu we found it to be extensive with something to suit all pallets. The owners Michelle and Terry were very helpful, they took time out from there busy day to inform us of local attraction we may find interesting. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Whyalla.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight in a Queen room which we found to be above the standard expected for a 3.5 star rating. We slept in comfort and awoke refreshed. Our room was fresh and clean and we were impressed with the quality of the furnishings, linen and towels. The free WiFi and Austar were a bonus. Accommodation for our large vehicle was not a problem as there is plenty of parking space available.
Although we didn't have the opportunity to dine in the restaurant, it looked very inviting and the menu options were good and reasonably priced.
Thank you to the hosts, Michelle and Terry, we will certainly recommend your motel to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958vic_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana m, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words, we pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome and pleased that you were happy with our high standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Whyalla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We drove into Whyalla guided by our GPS. After a few pushes of the buttons, the GPS led us to the Best Western Alexander Motel and it was right on target. The motel staff were warm and welcoming and immediately accommodated us when we requested a late checkout. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and had all of the amenities we required. My son delighted in creating a pillow fort out of the abundance of pillows at our disposal. A comfortable, cozy place to spend the night in Whyalla.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwgrizzlybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana m, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time in leaving us a review.
We are very happy to hear we made your stay comfortable for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

On arranging a dinner party I found the owners & staff very helpful . Also in arranging to book 3 rooms to accommodate family members from Adel. We had dinner for 16 and the 3 course meal we had was excellent all cooked to a high standard. Well done chef. Waiting staff also did an excellent job. All guests were happy, and the pool was a bonus because of the heat. Bev

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana m, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you Bev for taking the time in leaving us such a lovely review.
We are all very proud to have made your husbands birthday dinner such a great time and was a wonderful night enjoyed by ourselves as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Augusta, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I booked a SPA room for 1 night only for my partner's birthday as a surprise. Since I lived out of town, trying to plan all the romantic extra's was tricky, but after explaining this to reception they were so helpful. Check in was spot on, I was able to get in the room and set it up with the help of the HSK. I even planned an extra surprise for my partner, with the help of the staff who were in on it the whole night. My partner and I were surprised with the room, the value was just another great thing about the experience. We invited our family for tea in the dinning room, and I have to admit, it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time and our family had no negative feed back. It was a shame we only stayed for 1 night, and had to leave early in the morning (even though we were given a late checkout) I can't wait to stay again, and have the time to experience everything that the great accommodation providers have to offer! Will be recommending this place to everyone. Accommodation & Restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmerWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived sat afternoon and stayed 2 nights, the WEEKENDER Deal we had booked was an upstairs room for $198. Reception gave us Room 1 Ground Level and said that is where Reception has us booked.We didn't mind or argue as we could park our car in front of the room. The room was very clean and we had taken our own pillows expecting the bed and pillows to be uncomfortable SURPRISE it was like being on our own bed GREATComfort! The shower was a delight Plenty of Hot water and High Pressured to use except no exhaust fan switch that we could find. FRIDGE DOOR hits cupboard it's in. We had an Opening window in our room for Fresh air!...Great!
PERCY'S RESTAURANT a little out dated seemed a bit FAULTY TOWERS but clean, the girl& gentleman that served us were polite, the FOOD though was DELICIOUS AND MADE WITH EXPERTISE we both chose the "Fish Basket" forgot what it was called on Menu there were not alot of Vegetarian choices (maybe not alot of Vego's in Whyalla) Gluten Free on Menu which is Good...
We both ate and enjoyed the Taste of this meal ..we wish the Chef was in Adelaide!!
On the day we were leaving the gentleman/manager?? from the restaurant came pass and told us that the room we had been put in was a Superior Room (their doing) so what we saved by being in this room really gave us a free dinner!!!( we paid $68 for dinner ) we felt like to telling him to #@%^$&*..... Be Quite.....
as we had enjoyed our stay and he kept wanting to tell us what a DEAL WE GOT !!!
(perhaps he was excited for us)

Room Tip: Room 1 has no one on one side of you however the Staff Cleaning room is on the other side and you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sienna003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
1.9 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
1.2 mi away
Airport Whyalla Motel
Airport Whyalla Motel
#4 of 5 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Whyalla
Quest Whyalla
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla

Property: BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
Address: 99 Playford Ave, Whyalla, South Australia 5600, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Alexander Motel offers top value Accomodation in Whyalla.Our deluxe rooms are clean and comfortable with the best showers in town. Relax in our pool and sauna and enjoy our FREE WI-FI. Our onsite restaurant is open for breakfast 7 days a week and Dinner Mon-Sat or treat yourself to room service. Great Country Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whyalla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing