We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of sundowner

sundowner
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Whyalla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying with friends in Whyalla. With the adults and kids we had a lovely, hearty meal and we would like to recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    49
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“popular restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were staying at the motel and walked into the lounge just before 6pm for a drink and were recommended to book a table at the restaurant. Very glad we did as when we went into the restaurant shortly afterwards it was nearly full. It was a Thursday night and the special of the day was "ribs" so not sure if that was the attraction or if it is always busy. I ordered the "ribs" from the menu and my friends had the salad bar and hot vegetables and we were all happy with the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great atmosphere, good prices. There were some conflicting opinions within our group about the food, a couple said average and others were completely happy with their meals. Still not a bad place for a meal & drinks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxby Downs, Australia
2 reviews
“Very considerate chef & waiters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We visited Whyalla 2 years ago, and stayed in the motel. Our son felt very much at home because of the king bed. The lunch was good, no doubt. At breakfast time, though we had hot breakfast, we wanted a special omelette for our son having strong likes & dislikes. The chef made & served it willingly, and the waiters refused to bill us for it. Sundowner motel is a better place because of the considerate people employed at the place. They understand people with special needs... In the last 2 years, we have stayed more than 10 times at Sundowner and consistently enjoyed their excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesferrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“we are regulars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

As locals we want to eat and good value for money is the go. We are regulars now for a meal for a few years and we still find the place good value. The Manager has recently changed but that seems like a normal practice and we didn't even notice. The food is good and the service is excellent. Try the Chicken Snitz with the outback topping. I love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed sundowner also viewed

Whyalla, South Australia
 
Whyalla, South Australia
Whyalla, South Australia
 
Whyalla, South Australia
 

Been to sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing