We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EPIC night out, with yummy pizza!!!!”
Review of Russell Jeavons

Russell Jeavons
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Willunga
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EPIC night out, with yummy pizza!!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The atmosphere at this place is fantastic! Laid back, welcoming, beautifully rustic and fun! We had a dinner the recently with 33 adults and 4 kids. To be honest it's not really a kid friendly menu, as the pizzas were a bit 'weird' for some of the kids, but If you love tasty wood oven pizza this place is fantastic! All you can eat pizza, with entre and dessert for $37 each, including BYO ( eskies welcome). Thanks guys, you definately made some new fans Friday night! And the cranking dance floor in the back shed / room made for a memorable night. My 8 year old niece summed it up "Epic!"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NovaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and bustling”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great staff. Great atmosphere. Delicious food. The choices aren't great and they don't need to be. Don't forget to take your own drinks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AandR909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place, but lower than average pizzas for higher than average price”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had to book for as late as 8:15 pm so that the previous session was over, but then we were allowed to stay until closing. This is a bit too late to eat, really, and the previous people may have had to hurry or eat earlier than they wanted. We chose the all you can eat option for $35. Then, were were advised to get 2 pizzas between 4 people and we could have more afterwards if we wanted. One pizza is $25, so this did not represent value for money, even for good pizza. The entree bread and dips were okay but not great, and i could make at least as nice at home - bread and dips is not exactly haute cuisine, but the total price of $35 should get you much better than average. Then the salad came - no cutlery, no plates, and mostly green leaves, with a spattering of other things of which there was not enough to share between four people. Then there were eventually the pizzas, which we had to wait for longer than we should have. They were mostly doughy base of less than average taste with a small spattering of toppings, much less than a usual pizza. This is simply not good enough, let alone above average. When we tried to order more, some were not available. When we were thinking of ordering more after we ate the second pizza order, the kitchen was closing. So much for even getting all you can eat. The dessert, although only a few dollars extra, was tiny and not great, a bit bland. Although the place is one of those nouveau rustic converted farmhouse and barn places and had a nice atmosphere, it was not good enough to make up for the poor food and high prices. I would not go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute favourite! So unique...”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Russell's Pizza is truly one of a kind. It feels as though you are spending an evening at someone's farm. Rustic, beautiful charm - the staff are so warm and friendly. Food is great value - the banquet is a great option, you are guaranteed to leave satisfied. Will always be a favourite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield South Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Funky, earthy all that”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Went there some years back and how good is it!! BYO is expected. Glasses on the table corkscrew on the wall, mismatched chairs and tables. Food done by the local High School (with guidance) and so good. Went with a group for a party opted for the price per head where they bring out the dukka and oven bread, then anti pasto, then gradually one of each of their rustic pizzas (wood oven ofcourse) and then at the end of it they want to know if you need more, well no not really, feel suitably stuffed and pretty happy. It has changed hands now I have heard so not sure how itis doing, but you'd think that if the place was on a real winner, you wouldn't want to mess with that. Oh by the way, I forgot to say that it was only open maybe two nights a week and you would have to book weeks in advance!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mistiacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russell Jeavons also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Russell Jeavons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing