We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castelletto di Montebenichi
Nearby Hotels
Villa Giusterna(Montebenichi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
110
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownertiny villageout of the waytuscan countrysideoverlooking the valleyoff the beaten pathbed and breakfastmany placeswine tastingbeautiful propertywrite a reviewamazing breakfastmarcocastlemuseumhillbarbara
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Ooooooozing with history. This hotel has deep character and soul. The owner, Marco, is a charming historian and host. It was an honour to have visited such a valuable part of history. The quality of the building, the rooms, in fact, everything, was superb. You don't feel like a hotel guest, you feel at home. The peace and quietness of the surroundings are astonishing. Wonderful views from the roof terrace and the swimming pool. A must visit. We will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner, nephew and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at the amazing castelletto. After taking a narrow, paved road through vineyards and olive groves, you climb the hillside and are delivered to a tranquil hilltop town. Marco was the perfect host, offering excellent recommendations for dining and sightseeing based on our interests. The place is beautiful, full of charm, and is quiet and comfortable. The patio on the top of the hotel offers a 360-degree view of the countryside and is the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing. A complimentary extensive breakfast, mini-bar, happy hour beverages and parking are included. We also enjoyed a Tuscan cooking class with Barbara, who also lives in the town, a hot air balloon ride over Siena, and wine/olive oil tasting. It was a memorable and wonderful start of our nephew's first trip to Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were introduced to this lovely spot by our Swiss friends. We stayed here a couple of times, and the owner, Marco, helped me to find a lovely spot for thirty in the locality for my 60th. We have just come back from a two night stay, our fifth.
The hotel is tiny and all the rooms are individual and very comfortable. We love the shared space from the airy breakfast room to the library where drinks are served as part of the deal. On the subject of breakfast, the breakfast buffet is freshly prepared and delicious, and can set you up for the day, until dinner. The roof terrace is just the spot for a late night pizza and a glass of wine in the dark (Pizza from Ambra, ten minutes away, but excellent). The poll is a short walk down from the tiny hamlet in the garden/parking area, but a great place to enjoy at the end of a day of Piero worship.
The Casteletto is up a long winding road from the 'main road' from nowhere special to somewhere else nobody knows about, but it is only half an hour from the heart of Chianti, and forty minutes from Arezzo and Siena.
The local restaurant in the hamlet, we call Dino's is OK, but book through Marco as it is small, but better still get him to book for Bottega del 30, a really special place in Villa a Sestri, only twenty minutes drive away, albeit along a strada bianca then a single track road along a balcony clinging to edge of another village (which is 'interesting' on the way back. i.e. decide on a designated driver.)
It is a special place for us, but it is quite expensive, so we leave it for a bit of luxury at the end of a Tuscan break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aureliaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

While planning my honeymoon, I came across this amazing hotel on Booking.com. It was the highlight of our trip. The Castelleto is just stunning and it is impossible not to be relaxed during your stay. The village is small and about 30 minutes east of Siena, and it is incredibly charming.

While the hotel is in a remote area of Tuscany, it is very easy to drive to the surrounding hill towns. Marco (the owner) is very generous and helpful. He will give you suggestions for day trips. Most places are within 30-45 minutes away. He also welcomed us with a bottle of champagne.

The grounds of the hotel are well landscaped and there are flowers everywhere. Everything smells like jasmine and lemons.The interior is even more beautiful. There are antiques in all the rooms, and the common spaces are amazing. Each room is tastefully decorated with paintings, frescos, rare books, and an incredible Etruscan pottery and statues. There is one room with a free open bar. We spent our evenings reading about the area while listening to opera and enjoying martinis.

We toured the surrounding towns most days, but if you do spend the day around the hotel, there is a gorgeous pool with beautiful gardens and a very good restaurant next door. Their pasta is superb and they make wonderful veal.

In addition, the service was excellent. One night we were the only guests, but they hotel staff still layed out an amazing breakfast. Also our room was always cleaned. We'd step out for 2 minutes and come back to fresh towels and a made bed and spotless room. It was like there were house elves.

Overall, I don’t think we could have had a better stay. We are hoping to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

While our stay at the Castelletto di Montebenichi was very enjoyable overall, we'd probably look for a property that was less remote on our next visit to the area.

The deluxe room we stayed in was well equipped with a comfortable bed, desk, tv, small refrigerator and a roomy wardrobe though it could have used a bit of "refreshing". Additional storage space for toiletries in the bathroom would have been appreciated, but otherwise the shower, and amenities were fine. The overall ambiance created is fairly relaxed and welcoming, and Montebenichi, though too small to be even referred to as a village, is picturesque.

The antiques, decor and overall visual impression of the property is quite lovely with a great deal of attention to detail. There are several common rooms to relax in, including the upper patio. Marco was ready to assist if asked, and provided us with advice about a day trip that helped a great deal.

The breakfast offerings were fairly standard, which is not an issue in itself, but the fruit was not always fresh, and the platters not refreshed. If there happen to be families staying when you visit, be sure to enjoy your breakfast early! Feel free to ask for cappuccino as it is not available from the self serve buffet but is happily provided.

We appreciate countryside vistas and quiet, but we found this location a bit too remote. There is only one small restaurant (max.18 seats) nearby and because we failed to mention needing a dinner reservation before we left one morning, we had to drive 20 minutes to Ambra for dinner late at night. Thankfully the wonderful little place we'd been a few nights before could take us-----their last table! Though the restaurant in Montebenichi was alright, we were not particularly impressed with our meals there. We did however, really enjoy the experience at Alla Corte di Bacco in Ambra. There are just not many options in the evening without a bit of a drive down winding, narrow roads in the dark. Not ideal if you like to enjoy a Tuscan red with your dinner.

For the 4 nights we stayed at the Castelletto we had busy days planned with seeing sights in Tuscany, and because it was late September we did not avail ourselves of the pool area. With it being at least a 6-7 minute walk down from the castelletto, the pool (just beyond and below the car park) is quite removed from the actual hotel building. While mobility is not a problem for us, the distance should be mentioned for those who might have difficulty walking up and down the steep and narrow streets to and from the parking and pool areas. During our stay we did notice one senior guest who seemed to be struggling by the time they walked from the car to the hotel, and then up two flights of stairs in the castelletto to the guest rooms. Thankfully you can park in front of the castelletto to unload and load luggage, though it did take us some time to find the actual building on arrival. Marco takes pride in the fact that he does not like signage.

While the Castelletto was a unique experience, we found we'd much prefer something that didn't require quite so much driving in the evening after already full days exploring Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews