We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, GREAT food - welcoming owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walhalla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sanctuary Guest House & Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Walhalla B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, GREAT food - welcoming owners”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We spent the 4th of July holiday in Walhalla this year with another couple and ate at the Santuary guest house. The food was wonderful, the grounds were beautiful. I would definitely recommend eating here if you come through this cute little town in NE North Dakota. We were able to tour the rooms as well and they looked warm and inviting.

Room Tip: All 4 of the rooms were welcoming and looked clean and comfortable. Hard to recommend which room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedLla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This house is beautifully decorated and sparkling clean-unlike the the dusty kitsch-filled B&Bs where I have stayed before. The service was wonderful. When we arrived late and hungry, Deirdre prepared a lovely supper for us even though the tea room was closed. We were so comfortable. The bed was great too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbdamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orting, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed at Sanctuary Guest House for 4 days to get a little "me" time. It was wonderful! The guest rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished. The little touches like soft fluffy towels and a tea set in each room make it feel extra special, and the beds are so comfy with organic cotton sheets and fluffy pillows - I haven't slept so well in years! The house is a historic 1911 Arts & Crafts style Sears kit home, lovingly restored to its original glory, but with all the modern comforts.

The owners, Deirdre and Hope, make all the delicious food for the tearoom from scratch, even using veggies and herbs from their own gardens. Try the home grown, homemade rhubarb jam with a home baked Scottish scone! Speaking of the gardens, you can walk around and admire their handiwork, or sit on a garden bench, relax and watch the hummingbirds & gold finches flit around.

While it would be tempting to stay put at Sanctuary for your entire stay, there is much to see and do in the Walhalla/Pembina Gorge area. Deirdre and Hope are happy to suggest things to see and do in the area and are full of tips to make your visit special. Whether for an overnight stay or lunch in the tearoom, I highly recommend checking out Sanctuary Guest House & Tearoom - you may never want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The Sanctuary Guest House is a European-style bed and breakfast owned and run by a mother-daughter team. These two have renovated a large home that belonged to their grandmother in a charming valley close to the Canadian border. My husband and I were surprised by the beautiful rooms, delicious food, and the warm and friendly owners. Our room - the Granada -was tastefully decorated and cozy. Getting off the "beaten path" was worth it to visit this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BPx458h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sanctuary Guest House & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Guest House & Tearoom

Property: Sanctuary Guest House & Tearoom
Address: 403 Holly St, Walhalla, ND 58282-4606
Region: United States > North Dakota > Walhalla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walhalla
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest House And Tearoom
Sanctuary Guest House & Tearoom Hotel Walhalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing