We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Beachwood
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Updated in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I visited here for business and enjoyed the customary Courtyard experience with the newly updated rooms with all of the amenities.

This hotel was clean and well taken care of. The courtyard had a fire pit and was comfortable to relax in on a warm summer's evening. I checked in early and there was a crew busily working at one of the courtyards to make it look perfect during the afternoon.

As with other updated Courtyards, there was a refrigerator in the room.

I stayed in a room facing the back of the hotel. This was nice so I didn't hear all of the highway traffic and had a good night's sleep.

The service at the Bistro was outstanding!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ATraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    79
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
31
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We did not plan to stay here-- our car broke down on an exit ramp en route to Chicago, forcing us to stay in Beachwood for the night. We used hotels.com to book a reservation here; when we got here, hotels.com had goofed, and the reservation hadn't gone through. This hotel was full, and there weren't any other available rooms anywhere in the Cleveland area. We had already had our car towed to this place and we were stuck.

Thus, we were effectively camped out in the lobby of this hotel, with no transportation, spending almost 5 hours on the phone with hotels.com, trying desperately to find someplace to stay. We have two young children, one with special needs, and were in a bit of a panic. It was very late and the kids were fried. We could not BELIEVE how kind and thoughtful the hotel staff were to us.

Carzel, the desk clerk, and Katoya, the cafe operator, helped us try to remedy the situation with hotels.com and empathized with how frustrating it was. Carzel got on the phone himself and spent 45 minutes with a hotels.com rep on our behalf. He found activities for the kids to do so they wouldn't feel so anxious. At one point, our special-needs child became agitated and started screaming and running around. Katoya was taken aback at first, but once she understood the situation she went out of her way to be kind to our child, compliment her, and helpher find a snack she liked.

Keep in mind, this was all BEFORE we even were paying customers!

At almost midnight, a room did open up here and Carzel got us right in. He introduced us to the overnight clerk and made sure we were comfortably situated. The room itself was pleasant, immaculate, newly refurbished, with roomy beds and very soft, full pillows. All new linens, everything smelled fresh as a daisy, really a very classy and comfortable setting. I'd compare it favorably to any business-class hotel. And we travel a LOT.

Carzel and Katoya did not have to be so helpful and solicitous to us, but they were. We felt absolutely cared for. They run a first-class operation. I don't remember many hotel stays, but I will always remember how kind and caring the staff were here.

Room Tip: If you have kids, you may want the option of having a king-size bed with sleeper sofa. That worked w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having to make an emergency trip, we were cost conscious and found this hotel the least expensive of those in its "class" that are in the area. The tripadvisor reviews seemed to highlight problems. We were pleasantly surprised at our nice experience. We have stayed at 3 other hotels within a mile to mile 1/2 of this one and the Courtyard is the best overall. We used the tripadvisor traveler's tips and requested a higher floor, quiet room away from the elevator. Since we needed a hotel just for sleeping we didn't use the gym, pool or bistro. We were given a room at the end of a hall. Positives: very nice updates for a hotel in this price range. friendly staff, free newspapers, comfortable bed,pillows and comforter, contemporary remodeled room and bathroom. Free Wifi, refrigerator in the room. Lobby has many computers with printers to print boarding passes. It's close to a Starbucks, restaurants, and the freeway. Negatives: closet in the hallway with sink area,no free coffee in lobby, no safe in room. Positives out-way negatives. Since family is in the area we will be back and we will stay here again if prices are continue to be competitive.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were given a king room adjacent to the roof with all the air conditioning and heating ducts on it. This was quite unsightly. This room (224) seemed to be a particularly poor design. The closet was right across from the sinks so you couldn't wash your hands if someone opened a closet. There were no towel racks in either the bathroom with the shower or the part of the bath with the sink. The air conditioning unit leaked water on the floor...and was incredibly noisy. The fan went on and off all night. The bed was hard.

Room Tip: If you are given an unsatisfactory room, be sure to ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 111nancye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest Exile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Traveling over the years, one of the things I have come to love about Marriott is their level of service. I only occasionally travel for business - most of my trips are family centered and involve long hours in a car with two young children so it's everything to pull up to a property and be met with a smiling face, a warm welcome and feel like I can relax. That wasn't my experience here and based on the reviews I read prior to booking my rewards night (which made this stay all the more frustrating) my hope is that it was just an off night for the person working. She just seemed to be going through the motions of checking us in instead of actually greeting. She did help me get a roll-away for the room but when I asked for a few extra sets of towels overheard her request only one.

The hotel, as others have commented, has been recently renovated and it is beautiful. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are well appointed for a Courtyard. There are sound issues though - at the very least with rooms that can be made into adjoining rooms (with the door between). At 10:30 at night when trying to get everyone to bed we could hear every word of the conversation of the two women beside us as they were trying to set up an iPhone. They were at times very loud and standing right beside the door, so I eventually wandered down to the main lobby to advise that it was becoming a problem. The person at the desk seemed annoyed but said that she would let them know - but I'm not sure that ever happened as the room next door never got a call and nobody ever knocked on the door and the conversations continued. Then, at 4:30a either a guest or a guest of a guest decided to have a techno dance party out in their car in the back parking lot (hazard lights flashing and all) and that too came right through the back walls - after my experience with the room beside us, I wasn't going to even bother calling to the desk.

I'm sure, as others have experienced, if our room had been in another location this may have been a perfectly wonderful stay with no issues but I'm not likely to rebook here again. If you do stay, I'd recommend asking for a room that's on an upper floor (that's in my preferences but I got stuck on the first floor), and not an adjoining room. If you have to be on the 1st floor and you're a light sleeper by all means avoid rooms 103 & 104.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joysephus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We got caught in a rainstorm last night and this was the only hotel with rooms. Hotel staff were very responsive. When we opened the door to our first room there was an overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke. They immediately gave us another room which was not smokey. This one, however, had another problem which we didn't discover until much later--a barely functioning air conditioner. It wasn't obvious until we'd had it going at full steam for an hour or so and the room was still warm. With two young children asleep, we couldn't exactly have a maintenance person come and fix it at that hour, so we just suffered a bad night of sleep. $230 (including tax) is a lot to pay for a stuffy room with little air circulation. The front desk staff offered us a $10 coupon for breakfast, but that seemed paltry in light of the fact that this was our second room with another problem. We had a 12 hour drive the next day, so this was a big (and expensive) disappointment.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner works and check for smoke smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood is conveniently located off 271. We had a 2 Queen room which was perfect for a recent weekend college visit in the area. Our corner room was spacious, quiet, comfortable and nicely decorated with the sink and full size closet separate from the tub/shower/toilet area. The weekend rate was reasonable and the location was very good for dining options like PF Chang's for dinner and Bravo Cucina for brunch. It is also close to the area's nicer shopping centers/malls (Eaton on Chagrin Blvd., Beachwood Place & Legacy Village just 1 exit north).

Customer service at the hotel was excellent. We happened to leave an item behind accidentally, and Marriott contacted the hotel on my behalf (phone service at the hotel was disrupted that weekend). The manager, Richard Somsak, contacted me to let me know they had located the item and it was quickly delivered to our home address.

One Suggestion: Although the interior of the hotel has been recently renovated, it would be a good idea to repair/renovate the side courtyard, as the elevated paver decking is collapsing & in need of repair.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beachwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Beachwood
0.7 mi away
Aloft Beachwood
Aloft Beachwood
#3 of 15 in Beachwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Cleveland-Beachwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Cleveland East/Beachwood
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Beachwood
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Cleveland-Beachwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood

Property: Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood
Address: 3695 Orange Pl, Beachwood, OH 44122-4401
Region: United States > Ohio > Beachwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Beachwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott hotel in Beachwood is located in Cleveland's premier suburban business and entertainment district. Our state-of-the-art lobby offers exceptional flexibility and choices for our guests, including inviting spaces for work or relaxation, complimentary Wi-Fi, and the latest news, weather and airport updates via the GoBoard®. Each stylishly appointed guest room features Courtyard's new Cynergy décor with innovative accents like the “Lounge-around” Sofa and Shower Nook. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at this beautifully renovated hotel is sure to be more comfortable, productive, and enjoyable than ever before! Start your day with a healthy breakfast including Starbucks coffee, or relax and share a casual dinner with friends or colleagues in the Bistro®. Located on Interstate 271, near upscale shopping and dining, our hotel is the perfect choice for overnight stays, group travel, business meetings, and social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cleveland Beachwood Hotel Beachwood
Courtyard Beachwood
Beachwood Courtyard
Beachwood Marriott
Courtyard Cleveland Beachwood Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing