We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stop”

Der Dutchman Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Bellville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stop”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This Amish restaurant in Belleville was a pleasant discovery. Home-style cooking, a varied menu, and friendly wait staff. Has the air of a local favorite, judging by the clientele present while we were there. We got there in time for me to have breakfast, and my wife to have a normal lunch. Both were excellent (hint: their patty sausage is the best I've had in a long, long time). This is the sort of restaurant one wishes could be found everywhere, but alas, our travels prove that's only wishful thinking.
In addition to the restaurant, they have a bakery and gift shop. It's nearly impossible to ignore the baked goods, even if you've just eaten, and the gift shop has an array of unusual items. If we're in range of Belleville again, we'll make a bee-line for this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontagnardNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    70
    50
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“What a find”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I drive through Ohio every year and randomly stopped here. My family and I loved it so much we even bought a quilt in their shop. We will be back next this year guaranteed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandk0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Buffet and GIFT SHOPPE in Central Ohio”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fantastic food! Even better service! And a gift shoppe that is two floors full!
We eat breakfast here at least one Friday a month as an office - it is that good!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must stop for Amish food”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I love driving on interstate 71 just so I can stop here. They have the best Amish food and the pies are to die for! Great bakery Carry out

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peachyohio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
193 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Reliable Home Cooking”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We are familiar with this restaurant from Sarasota Florida and this incarnation is equally good and satisfying, especially so as there didn't appear to be that many options on the trip between Columbus and Cleveland. The hot bar is very satisfying, featuring their signature broasted chicken, and they also have a varied cold salad bar, and items to be ordered off the menu. It is Amish, home style cooking. And they have a gift store which my wife says is lovely.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Der Dutchman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Der Dutchman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing