We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and serene”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlisle Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and serene”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just stayed one night at the Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast as a quick get-a-way for my birthday. The property is well maintained with lush landscaping. This Bed and Breakfast was built as a Bed and Breakfast where most we have visited are renovated older homes. The newer construction and purpose makes for a perfect layout. Our room and common areas were spotless! Very quiet, nice king size bed, good linens and plush towels in the bath. Breakfast was good, served nicely with entertainment of piano and song from the Innkeeper, Larry. Larry was very knowledgeable about the Amish culture. The wrap-around porch overlooked the rolling hills of the area and several Amish farms. It was nice to be able to observe some Amish culture without being intrusive. We watched the sunset from the porch in such a serene setting. The Innkeepers are looking to sell the property. I hope future owners take as much pride in the property.

Room Tip: It is within walking distance of the shops in Berlin but the walk is a very steep hill if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioRN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Margee & Dale Spurio
Medina, OH

We have stayed in other bed and breakfasts, but NONE compare to the Lamplight Inn in Berlin, OH. The rooms are cozy and very comfortable. The food.....WOW!....and the Innkeepers are way better than staying with family. We love to come back from walking around all day and if it is winter, we relax in front of the beautiful fireplace. If it is warmer weather, we absolutely treasure the opportunity to sit in one of the rocking chairs on the wrap around porch. God himself must have painted the spectacular view from the Inn for us. It is breathtaking and so calm. We would not even consider staying anywhere else. It is located right off of the main road that runs through Berlin. It is peaceful and quiet but we have walked up to the main road from the Inn.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms have the spectacular view from the back of the Inn. It overlooks green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've been wanting to stay at this B&B for a while and was finally able to stay with my girlfriend on April 2014. We both read many reviews online about how incredible this place is and it didn't disappoint. The grounds are incredibly kept and absolutely pristine. The room we stayed 2 nights in was Cameo Rose and the pictures online do it no justice whatsoever. The innkeepers, Larry and Helen, were an absolute delight and extremely hospitable. Breakfast, served at 8:30AM, was incredible both mornings we stayed. The singing innkeeper, Larry, played the piano while we ate and a little while afterwards and it was such an amazing way to kick off our morning. Both innkeepers have strong Christian beliefs and did pray over the breakfast, we're not religious but both thought that it was nice for them to share their beliefs and not hide them just because some guests might not share the same. This B&B was an absolute delight to stay in and we departed beyond pleased. They weren't voted best B&B 4 years in a row for nothing! Only disappointment we encountered was when Larry told us that they're selling the place, such a shame because I doubt that the next innkeepers will live up to the standards that Larry and Helen have created.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We celebrated our anniversary at the Lightlight. Very relaxing and peaceful. We loved listening to the innkeepers about the Amish Heritage. They shared so much insight and knowledge about the Amish way of light. Great musice too.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lamplight Inn during July 2011.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Lamplight Inn is located in a very inspiring setting with rolling hills and quiet sunsets. That's just the outside, but the quaint bed and breakfast has so much more to offer inside. The hosts of the Inn were wonderfully cordial, with abundant talent to make each guest feel special. Choice of a room for us was challenging because each had its distinctive appeal. The room we chose provided an intimate relaxing atmosphere. Our hosts entertained us with their talents and exceptional friendliness that gave us the feeling we were honored guests in their home. Indeed, from the delicious food, to the singing and piano playing, to extraordinary friendliness, our experience was truly memorable. I heartily recommend a night at the Lamplight Inn for anyone desiring a stress-free getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at several nice B&B's in the Berlin area and The Lamplight Inn B&B has been our favorite. Though we did not get to meet Larry or hear him play the piano during our stay as he was traveling, we did enjoy talking to Helen and learning more about them. They are very knowledgeable of the area and can help you plan your stay to get the most out of your time in the area. The owners do everything in their power to both make you feel welcome and to give you the privacy you're looking for on those romantic getaways.
The Lamplighter Inn is a very comfortable and beautiful place to stay in the heart of Amish country and a wonderful place to come back to after a day of shopping or roaming the countryside sightseeing. The property overlooks some of the most beautiful countryside and Amish farms. We loved being within walking distance of everything in downtown Berlin - very convenient. The breakfast was awesome as well; you will definitely not leave the table hungry. We had the pleasure of staying in the Royal Comfort suite which we can highly recommend. The Lamplighter Inn is well worth the stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this wonderful B& B in the spring time . So handy to shops and beautiful country side . From our room we could hear and see the clop clop of buggies going into town in the morning. Cattle and horses grazing on the hillside from our room . House was immaculate and breakfast was served with expertise . Larry did not disappoint with a few piano selections .
I would recommend this B & B for your next Get A Away .

Karen

Room Tip: All rooms have advantages of scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.3 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
0.5 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
243 reviews
16.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Country Inn

Property: Carlisle Country Inn
Address: 5676 Township Road 362, Berlin, OH 44654-9031 (Formerly The Lamplight Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Carlisle Inn, seven graciously appointed guest rooms await your arrival. Like our other inns, you'll find each room has its own unique style and color palette with fine Victorian details such as lace curtains and four-poster cherry beds. The quaint setting is that of a home away from home, although each of our seven guest rooms has an outdoor entrance. With its more intimate setting, Carlisle Country Inn Berlin is an ideal location for family retreats. Deluxe rooms have a Jacuzzi tub and one suite has a spacious living area, fully-equipped Kitchen and extra bedroom. In keeping with its past as a Bed and Breakfast, the common areas feature a flat screen TV, a collection of DVDs and comfortable couches for lounging. Breakfast is included with your stay - from Monday to Saturday, you'll receive a certificate for free breakfast buffet at nearby Berlin Farmstead Restaurant. On Sundays, hot breakfast will be prepared and served at the inn. Carlisle Country Inn guests may swim in the pool at our Sugarcreek location. Formerly known as The Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast, Carlisle Country Inn was purchased in August of 2014. It is now owned by the family company that operates Carlisle Inns in Walnut Creek and Sugarcreek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlisle Country Inn Berlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing