We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homestyle Cooking”
Review of Boyd and Wurthmann

Boyd and Wurthmann
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Homestyle Cooking”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A fabulous find. Do not let the exterior or interior drive you away. This fabulous food is well worth the wait. I could say it is a hidden gem, however it is right on the main street.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TallOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    217
    80
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you like good food, this is the place”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had visited Berlin, Ohio several times but had missed what has now become a must-do each time we go there - Boyd and Wurthmann. This little restaurant is a great place to start your day with a wonderful home-cooked breakfast. As a matter of fact, we start every day with breakfast at Boyd and Wurthmann when we are in Berlin. We often eat lunch or dinner there also. There is nothing fancy here; just a very old building with very simple decor. The atmosphere is relaxed and you feel like you are at home. The waitresses are very friendly and courteous even though they are always extremely busy. And the food - "WOW!" The food is delicious and the servings are extremely generous. Don't forget to check out the pie board and try one of their many delicious pies. This is a great place for all ages because they have almost anything you can think of to eat. We have taken our elderly mothers, our children and our very young grand-children to Boyd and Wurthmann and all of them have loved the place. I guess all of this explains why the local people enjoy eating here as much as the visitors do. By the way, the prices are amazingly low! We will be returning to Berlin and Boyd and Wurthmann as often as we can - without a doubt!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TNtraveler1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A local favorite. Great food and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Homemade pies, fresh salads and homemade bread! Everything we have ever had at Boyd and Wurthmann is delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suny0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful diner”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very quaint and small but full of delicious food. Everything is wonderful but you must try their cheeseburgers and sweet potato fries. You MUST bring cash with you however. No credit cards accepted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Picksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If nothing else, go for the pie!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Boyd and Wurthmann is one of our favorite spots to eat when we visit Amish country. No fancy decor at this quaint place! Just down-home type food and all types of pies! The Brown Bag Apple Pie with homemade ice cream is fantastic and the portion is large enough for two to share. But my favorite it the Coconut Cream Pie. If you want it, better not wait until evening to go. They sell out fast! Normally you can seat yourself, but sometimes when there is a crowd, be prepared to wait. Oh, and take cash - they do not accept cards or checks. This really is where the locals eat. Open at 5:30 a.m. and closing at 8:00 p.m. Monday - Saturday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DL1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boyd and Wurthmann also viewed

 

Been to Boyd and Wurthmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing