We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodging on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodging on the Square
Ranked #6 of 10 Berlin B&B and Inns
East Rochester, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I loved the location near the center of town. That was a plus. Zinck's was a comfortable place to stay. The people staying there seemed to all be enjoying themselves and making themselves at home. The price was reasonable for the location. Good parking. The rooms were very clean and taken care of. We spent a comfortable and well rested night there. We will return again.

Room Tip: Even being near a road, everything was quiet. The higher level is their main floor. It was easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Guest Relations Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thanks for your recent stay and for your review of our facility! I am glad you enjoyed our close proximity to all the shops in Berlin and the atmosphere at Zinck's. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    23
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is our second stay at Zinck's. We had stayed at Comfort Suites in Berlin before, but Zinck's is more in line with our budget and needs.. Zinck's doesn't have a pool, or fitness center, neither of which do we use. Otherwise, I find the accomodations to be basically equal. Zinck's rooms are very clean and neat, and well furnished with comfortable beds and furniture. The breakfast is comparable to Comfort Suites, also. Actually, Comfort Suites bought Zinck's this past summer. I hope they let Zinck's continue their own, successful management style. The staff is very friendly and quick to help.
As noted in other reviews, the location is excellent. Most of Berlin is within easy walking distance, so you can leave your car parked, while you shop and sight see.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneekers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Guest Relations Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Zinck's Lodging on the Square and for your review of our property! We pride ourselves in offering exceptional service and clean rooms. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in Amish Country again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have stayed at many different places in Ohio Amish country, but presently we stay at Zinck's on the Square in Berlin because it is very clean, reasonably priced and in a good location.The rooms are very nice,beds firm, very clean towels and linens.They have a total non-smoking policy which is nice since the rooms never smell of smoke. All in all it is a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJ994U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Guest Services at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Good Morning, thank you for your loyalty to our Lodging on the Square location, we appreciate the fantastic recommendation that you have shared here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a fabulous day and a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night at Zinck's on the Square! We had no plans where we were going to stay. It was very busy that day and we wanted to park the car and visit the shops. The location was great! We could walk anywhere and not worry about finding a place to park. The room was clean, with 2 queen beds, coffee maker, and small refrigerator. The price was great also, only $69 a night. Great free breakfast in the morning, and we headed home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perkytoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Guest Services at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
It sounds like you had a wonderful day here in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country, Berlin, Ohio, we're so happy that you decided to make our Lodging on the Square location part of your amazing day. Thank you for the fabulous recommendation and posting all of the great things about our hotel. We appreciate seeing such fantastic posts here on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we will see you again here in Amish Country. Have a marvelous day and a fantastic new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass City, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I just booked our 4th stay here next week for our 49th anniversary. It is a clean, cozy, friendly spot in Berlin.Located downtown Berlin, so it is within walking distance of alot of stores and eating areas. The surrounding area is beautiful. You can drive around the back roads forever. Can't wait to get there..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Guest Services at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Greetings, thank you for choosing our Lodging on the Square location for such a special night here in Amish Country. We're so appreciative that you shared such a marvelous recommendation for our hotel and the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon, don't forget to let us know if you have an anniversary or a birthday and we'll put something a little special in your room. Have a fabulous day and a marvelous new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinboro
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed here so many times I have lost count. Friends from Cincinnati would meet us here (half way point for them and us) and we would spend a long weekend. After a few years of this, the husbands had enough of gift shops and quilt shops. My friend and I decided we would meet every year to get together and catch up. We stay for 3 or 4 days and check out what we are interested in. Zinck's Lodging on the Square has always been very clean, quiet and comfortable. They did not have breakfast years ago, but have again started doing that. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. There is always a good cup of coffee available in the lobby. My only complaint is one day we left our room and left the little card in the lock that said "service please", and apparently the staff thought it was turned to "do not disturb", so our room was not made up. Went to the lobby and got a supply of towels and we were good to go. Not a big deal, just surprising. We already have our reservations made for next year!

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, ask for a room in the rear. This hotel sits on a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Social Media Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 20 February 2016
Good Evening, we are so happy to hear from you. Thank you for the wonderful recommendation. We are pleased that we are able to provide a wonderful location for you and your friend to meet here in Ohio's Amish Country to shop and catch up on the wonders of your lives. We hope you continue your "Girls Week Out" and appreciate your loyalty in staying with us at our Lodging on the Square location in downtown Berlin. Have a wonderful year and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Went on a trip to Berlin with my mother and young daughter. The location was phenomenal. Right around the corner was music on the square one evening. We walked to breakfast and dinner. We were able to walk through the town and avoid all the traffic. Chocolate and Ice cream were near along with plenty of benches to sit and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claypoolfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZincksInn, Social Media Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this review, 20 February 2016
Greetings! Thank you for such a great review and rating, we appreciate hearing from you. We do serve a hot breakfast every morning now at Lodging on the Square, Unfortunately, Coblentz Chocolates is no longer in Berlin, however you can get delicious fudge, popcorn & toffee at MainStreet Fudge & Popcorn. We do hope we see you again soon. Have a wonderful year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
0.4 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodging on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodging on the Square

Property: Lodging on the Square
Address: 4877 West Main St, PO Box 331, Berlin, OH 44610 (Formerly Zinck's Family of Inns)
Region: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lodging on the Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zinck’s Family of Inns invites you to enjoy our centrally located, comfortable and relaxing, Lodging on the Square location. Lodging on the Square allows guests to step out of their room doors and into the center of downtown Berlin’s downtown shopping district. Take a short walk to enjoy shopping at your favorite shops and businesses, or eating at your favorite downtown Berlin restaurant. Enjoy your fresh baked cookies at check-in and a wonderfully hot delicious complimentary breakfast every morning when staying at our Lodging on the Square location. Having designated pet friendly rooms, we welcome your furry best traveling buddy to stay with you while staying with us at our Lodging on the Square location. We hope to see you soon here at Lodging on the Square for a friendly, enjoyable stay here in downtown Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lodging on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zinck`s Lodging On The Square Hotel Berlin
Lodging On The Square Berlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing