We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new lobby design but rooms just adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Blue Ash
World citizen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new lobby design but rooms just adequate”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The lobby design and functionality was a real surprise. I've stayed in other nearby suite-hotels previiously but this hotel was not only significantly less expensive, the lobby was modernist and includes a sub-level with good work areas, a degree of privacy, and an expanse of large windows letting the sun stream in. A very nice place to hang out for hotel in this price category.

The room looks nice and was clean. But all seating was worn out and uncomfortable. The desk chair was way too low to be functional at the desk height. I suspect the chair was meant to be adjustable but that function didn't appear to work. The small couch was hard as a rock, badly designed (almost no angle to the back) and worn out. It showed hard use as the cusions were beat down and angled to the middle. The bed was very comfortable. The flat screen t.v. is positioned to the couch and if you want to watch from bed, you need to turn your head 90 degrees, (a big problem for me with a few disc issues in my neck)or try to lay at an extreme angle half off the bed. Not a well thought out room design.

As for cleaning, we were notified on check in that there were only be light cleaning on Thanksgiving, which was fine. But the day after, my 3rd day, my linens were not changed. Turns out I was supposed to find and read the card on the night stand explaining that we are to place the card on a pillow if we want clean bedding. So it seems the default is now to have to ask. That's bogus in my opinion.

Room Tip: I had requested a quiet room in my reservation but was given one closest to the lobby and next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skarzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    66
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
54
23
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Greay consistent courtyard product with new style lobby. Bed was great and room design was functional. Free parking is great and for only $88 this was a steal in the suburbs.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Perfect place with a great price. The suites are newly renovated and match up to the upscale hotels. Staff is very pleasant and cordial. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anybody visiting Cincinnati on business or pleasure. It is just 20 minutes drive from downtown and the price beats the drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csrikanth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel during my granddaughter's tests at Cincinnati Children's Hospital. It was convenient to the interstate that went right to the hospital exit. It was about 20 minutes away. One exit past the exit for the hotel there is shopping and plenty of places to eat. The staff was very polite. The pool was cold, the hot tub was too hot and we never did arrive at the right time to find the breakfast that was supposed to be provided. One morning we were told it didn't start until 8:00 the next morning it was at 7:00 and ended at 9:00. Every morning we tried a different time and were told it had either not started or had already ended. In the week we were there I never did see it and got all kinds of answers as to why. I don't think it exists. They have a Starbucks in the lobby which was nice but too expensive to eat at every morning. We rec'd a free upgrade to a suite when the staff found out we needed a refrigerator and microwave. Over all it was a good place and was very clean. Just don't expect breakfast or to swim much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford (town), New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for a family trip to Kings Island. It was a little out of the way for Kings Island, but we got a good rate and wanted a decent hotel without tons of little kids. (We have young adults ages 13 - 22) .

The bed was the best part. It is a memory foam mattress and they actually sell them through their website! We are considering buying one from them to insure we get the same bed!

The only problem was no breakfast and food in the cafe was really expensive. Their is no where close to walk except for dinner --TGIF and Firehouse Grill.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a typical Courtyard with a couple of issues I ran into.

The hotel is a 2-floor square. There is only one elevator and it is in the far right corner from the main entrance. It took me a while to find it. Since it was on the opposite ends from the lobby and my room, I ended up using the stairs. I am assuming, if you have a problem using stairs they will put you on the 1st floor.

The second issue seems to be more common. the suites are connected by a locked door. I could hear everything my neighbors were doing, including semi-loud TV, conversations and *other* sounds. Going to sleep around 10 was a challenge. I am assuming I had little privacy since they could hear everything I was doing as well.

The internet was pretty good, when it worked. One night the wireless was down, but Ethernet was still working well.

Other than that, the staff is very nice and the suite was very clean.

Room Tip: 1st floor or close to the elevator (far right corner from the lobby).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw0rk1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel was well-maintained, clean, and quiet. But honestly, it's possibly the sofest bed I've ever had in a hotel. I like a bit firmer mattress, and I only spent a few hours sleeping (too much celebrating for me), but I wish it had been firmer. We used a conference room for a social, and I enjoyed being able to get a custom coffee. However, please be advised that even though its a "starbucks" in the lobby, the staff is not really starbucks trained and they don't really know how to make a fancy coffee without following a set of written instructions. The front desk staff was very friendly, and parking was plentiful. The location is very convenient to the freeway. We did not try any of the food in the lobby area, but it looked nice.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank christens02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blue Ash hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - Northeast (Blue Ash)
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati Blue Ash
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati/Blue Ash
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Blue Ash/Cincinnati
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Cincinnati Blue Ash
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati/Blue Ash
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash

Property: Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash
Address: 4625 Lake Forest Dr, Blue Ash, OH 45242-3729
Region: United States > Ohio > Blue Ash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Blue Ash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into our inviting, newly renovated lobby and check into one of our business-equipped guest rooms and suites with our luxurious bedding and 37" HDTVs. Enjoy Starbucks coffee and gather with colleagues at The Bistro- Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) Then keep up with your routine at our fitness center, or take a revitalizing swim in the indoor pool. With over 1,250 square feet of flexible space for your focused meeting, and complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, you'll find everything you need for success, in a convenient location that lets you take it all in. If you are looking to step out and are the adventurous type, we are also nearby Paramount's Kings Island Amusement Park and minutes from downtown Cincinnati! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cincinnati Blue Ash Hotel Blue Ash
Courtyard Blue Ash
Blue Ash Courtyard
Blue Ash Marriott
Courtyard Cincinnati Blue Ash Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing