We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful cottage in the heart of...”

Review of Poppy Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Secure and private garden ideal for al-fresco dining
The Flushing Ferry runs every 30 mins to Falmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flushing, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura T
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful cottage in the heart of Flushing”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Come rain or shine - this cottage and the location is absolutely beautiful! When we arrived, it was spotless and in fantastic condition. They left a list of restaurants and locations to visit, which made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. We loved how cozy the cottage was, and how equipped it was for every occasion. My favourite part about the cottage is how open the kitchen and conservatory is. It makes for an excellent entertaining space.
Can't wait to go back to the cottage. Without a doubt, our favourite town and cottage in the South West!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahleel...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poppy Cottage was a joy!”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in June 2015

Poppy Cottage was a joy. It was warm and welcoming, well located and Flushing was full of local amenities. The cottage had an extremely well resourced kitchen, which we particularly liked. The TV and WiFi was also very good. We would definitely go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameseY12...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a great little village”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at poppy cottage for a long weekend in the Spring and had a fantastic time. The cottage was spotless and really cosy, with a brilliant little fire place and open plan living space. We made a great use of the outside garden for a bbq as it is a bit of a sun trap.

Lots of great walks along the coast line, even a little sand beach just 10 mins walk up the road. Falmouth is just the other side of the river, reachable by car/taxi or a quick water taxi over the river.

All in all, a wonderful stay and highly recommended. We've even booked to go back again in November!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty but small”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Flushing is a lovely quiet village in a great location for exploring this part of Cornwall. We enjoyed Poppy Cottage but unfortunately did not sleep well. I was travelling with my daughter and mother and the double bed was comfortable but really too small for 2 people even my daughter (8yrs) and I found it too small and the single beds weren't very comfortable for adults, so unfortunately we did not sleep very well and ended up leaving a night early. The cottage is well appointed and well equipped but we wouldn't return because of the uncomfortable nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely village
Liked least: Uncomfortable small beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks for your feedback - a new bed has been purchased!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathieshi...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A really cosy warm wonderful cottage, with all the facilities needed. Local Pubs and a good fish restaurant doing some delicious food at very reasonable prices. All within walking distance! Only a stone’s throw from the sea with some beautiful beaches. Some lovely walks to walk off all those cream teas! All in all just what the Doctor ordered. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: How long it took to get there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael K
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, great location, great holiday!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

In the past we have always stayed on the North Coast and so decided to try something different this year, we were not disappointed. Flushing is a charming, friendly village with lots of pretty cottages and very unspoilt. We chose the location because we wanted a week to relax - being able to stroll down to one of the pubs in the evening or pop over to the Waterside restaurant meant we didn't cook all week - perfect!

The little ferry that runs to Falmouth was very romantic and a hassle free way to explore the town and our toddler loved the playground in the village

When the agent popped around to check we were settled in he even helped me connect my iPad to the WiFi - now that is service!!

The cottage was clean and comfortable with lots of thoughtful touches - we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage and super village
Liked least: We liked everything about it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing