We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Pizza - worth the WAIT”
Review of Myles' Pizza Pub & Sub Shop - CLOSED

Myles' Pizza Pub & Sub Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza - worth the WAIT”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

And WAIT you must. Found this place looking for pizza that wasn't a boring chain (or that had beer and any inside seating) on my drives between Ann Arbor and Columbus, OH. Didn't expect much, as that stretch is really restaurant wasteland. But I knew my chances were better with established, old, and near a university campus (in this case, Bowling Green State U). With Myle's I scored.

The bar is crusty and old, the ambiance is pretty basic . . . but the pizza is unique. I prefer moving up to the bar myself, as the service there is all college student and not at all quick. At least at the bar you get a chance to stare down the co-eds as they shuttle behind the bar for beers and into the kitchen for food. Don't be afraid to flag them down.

The pizza takes forever to cook, so calling ahead isn't a bad strategy. This is a combination of their unique take on pizza creation and the fact that the place is staffed with . . . you guessed it . . . more college students. They dawdle, they f- around, but eventually you'll see them tossing on your crust, clipping off the excess (odd right there, they seem to waste a lot), slathering it with a thick sauce, stacking on piles of toppings, and hammering the top with a huge heap of their cheese mix. Literally a 3 inch pile of cheese on your za.

And then you wait, and ask a passing waitron to alert your waitron to pour you another beer, and wait some more. But the pizza is worth it. Try it, really. And while the service is uniformly bad, the staff are really friendly and ready to chat . . . while keeping the other patrons waiting impatiently. Whatever. Chill, dood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat there!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Yesterday, our family visited Mile's pizza and we are never going back there again! And we are townies! First, the place was filthy, the bathroom was gross and the tables were so close together that I kept bumping into the neighboring table.
Second, the food was horrible. The breadsticks gave me the greatest heartburn in years. My husband had stomach ache that kept him up almost all night. The pizza arrived 45 minutes after ordering, but was so dough-ey that we could not eat it. We ended up leaving hungry.
Lastly, the service was not up to par either- one couple came, cleaned their own table with a towel and a spray bottle they got from a nearby table, and sat down waiting to be served. After about 5 minutes they got up and left without being served.
This place needs a drastic change to stay in business, starting from cleaning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Undercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

All i have to say is you people are stupid. Myles is a huge stepping stone for bowling green. It is by far the best pizza in town. Ask any townie. If you are dissing Myles you have no right being on here and if your dissing and arnt from bowling green. Then you worthless for even saying anything. anyone who has half a brain knows myles is the best in town

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Have to when in BG”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

LOVE the pizza, was great when i visit family in BG, always busy so don't plan on a quick pizza, worth the wait tho

Helpful?
Thank KLMRN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Yes, it may take you awhile to get your pizza, but there is nothing like it in the area. You order a pepperoni pizza, your pizza is "covered" with pepperoni. Whatever your topping is, there is plenty. Also the giant pretzels are great! Can be very crowded and wait staff does their best, this place is not a secret, very busy most of the time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CSibbersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myles' Pizza Pub & Sub Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing