We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the country but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Pengelly Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Trenwheal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2011

On our day of arrived we were met by Robert who showed us our room for the next three days plus the breakfast room.
There was ample parking for ourselves and other guests. We took our 16 month old pomeranian dog with us and there was plenty of grassfor him to run about.
Our bedroom was of a good size, warm and spotlessly clean. The onsuite was again spotlessly clean. All fixtures and fitting throughout were modern and good of a good quality.
The following morning at breakfast we met Maxine who was a model host. The breakfast was most enjoyable and the outlook from the breakfast room was very much rural. Maxine talked to us and the other guests offering advice and answering all our questions.
To find Little Pengelly in the dark could have been a problem in its rural position, but we took a satnav with us so that wasn't a problem for us.
We could find nothing wrong with Little Pengelly. Its rural position may not suit everyone, but intend to use it again next time we are in that area of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derrydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

The accommodation was generally clean and tidy, although the bathroom was over the corridor, but for our exclusive use. That was no problem. However, we found the shower to have hardly any pressure at all and to just 'drip' out. Also, the tv was not easy to operate as it had a set-top-box, but with NO instructions! We do not have or need a set-top box at home and so were not familiar with how to operate it. It took us AGES to get the tv on and when we did the volume kept cutting out, so the film we were watching just had 'clipped' speech. We decided to turn it off. The next morning, it was the same thing with the news! So, we gave up. At breakfast, we were greeted by the propietor, Maxine, but she did not invite us to help ourselves to cereal(which was on a side table). After a little while, we noticed it and realised we should just go and help ourselves. There was no butter, salt and pepper, sauces or jams/marmalades on the table or anywhere to help ourselves to. We had to ask. They were then brought out from the back. Other people also had to ask. One man didn't get his tea and had to go and knock at the kitchen door to ask for it. I had to go and knock and ask for salt and pepper, as did another child. When my husband asked for honey, Maxine just brought honey(from the back) but did not ask what I would like! Both my husband and I were given fried eggs that were burnt and blackened around the edges. However, our main complaint is about the attitude of both Maxine and her husband. After we had paid, we said we just wanted to point out a couple of things(after we had told Maxine that we were happy with the cleanliness of the room etc). We proceeded to tell Maxine that the tv did not work properly and the water pressure in the shower was poor. She immediately got on the defensive and took our observations personally. We were just trying to help them by informing them of these two things that were not 'right'. She had to interrupt us to go and take collection of some strawberries and left us standing waiting for her. She did not come back into the breakfast-room and so we went outside where she was standing talking to her husband and another man and woman. Maxine then informed her husband about the tv and shower and he, in a brusque and curt manner, just tried to dismiss it all. My husband, who is a plumber, persisted in explaining the problem and also told him that it wasn't for our benefit, as were we leaving, but for the benefit of future guests - he pointed out that the British are very bad at speaking up and that a lot of people probably wouldn't say anything but that they would tell other people and therefore reduce busniess for Maxine and her husband(?Tom?) Again, Tom, seemed to get on the defensive and my husband felt he most probably wouldn't do anything to recitfy the problem with the shower or tv! We went to collect our case from the room and then came back to look for someone to give the key to. There was NO-ONE to be found anywhere! The place had been vacated! No staff anywhere! We were extremely surprised as this was only a few seconds later! We also wanted to ask about the cream teas that were advertised - i.e. what time they were served that afternoon and how much they were! There was no-one to ask, so, rather disappointed, we loaded our car and left, leaving the key in the door of our room. As we were leaving the farm and going down the very narrow lane back to the road, we saw a car come from the main road and turn onto the lane. My husband was just about to back up to let the car proceed, when it shot backwards in a frenzied way to wait for us to go forward. When we got alongside it, we saw that it was Maxine - she neither looked at us nor acknowledged us with a wave, let alone a smile. In fact she looked harrassed and cross. Our conclusion was that Maxine and her husband were trying to do TOO much and did not have any time at all to give to us. They were running the B&B, open to the public for lunches/cream teas and they also had self-catering accommodation on site. They both seemed harrassed and stressed, unlike any of the other B&B proprietors we encountered on our wonderful trip to Cornwall. Because of our experience, we would never return to Pengelly Farm and would not recommend it to anyone else. Needless to say, we did not return for cream tea that afternoon, but discovered an Organic Farm, nearby where they served the most delicious cream tea and where we subsequently went back for Sunday lunch! Maxine and Tom missed out on some extra business from us, purely because they were TOO BUSY to speak to us properly. Their attitude was all wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sandy503822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Looking for just one night and was lucky enough to find a room at the Little Pengelly Farm B & B located in Leedstown, Cornwall. How lucky were we to be given the New Barn - beautiful accommodation, tastefully decorated and everything one could need for a trip away from home. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Amazingly comfortable bed and brilliant shower completed our stay. Will definately be back. Nearly forgot to mention the fantastic cooked breakfast!!

Room Tip: Don't worry - sure they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte le stanze offrono una vista sullo splendido giardino e sono immerse nelle natura
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario-Emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt ein Zimmer ohne Badezimmer. Dies befindet sich am anderen Ende des Ganges, kann jedoch exklu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Little Pengelly Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Pengelly Farm B&B

Address: | Leedstown, Trenwheal TR27 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Trenwheal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trenwheal
Price Range: £74 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Pengelly Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Little Pengelly Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing