We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and run down”
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckeye Lake
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and run down”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We came here at 3:30 a.m. after our room at the Red Roof Inn fell through. Although the beds were made, and the towels looked clean, the room smelled of cigarettes. There were not any mattress covers on the mattresses. The blanket under the top blanket was hard and gross. There were stains on the floor. A stain on the bed. There were cigarrette holes in the sheets. The shower was old and stained. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    4
    1
    19
See reviews for
9
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good for a night or 2 if you don't need/want a lot of amenities.

Fairly quiet, even with the freeway close by (easy access to the freeway). Staff was friendly.

They did not have much for breakfast - toast, donut holes, OJ, coffee. All of it was kind of crammed in by the front desk even though they had a nice dining nook with plenty of room right off the lobby.

We had difficulty with the free wifi especially during "peak use" hours.

The shower had good pressure but the water never really got hot (lukewarm at best) even though it came out of the sink nice and hot.

I've had issues with housekeeping ignoring the Do Not Disturb sign on the door at other places - no one bothered us here which was very nice.

There are a few restaurants within a couple miles but nothing surprising (mostly pizza & fast food).

Buckeye Lake is a short drive, we didn't stay long but it seemed like a nice little lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblueroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here with family while passing through. If you want a comfortable room and little else, this is your place. The room was recently remodeled and nice. Exterior corridors are not my preference, but thats the way it is set up. The breakfast was a huge disappointment, the rate was cheap. And McDonalds is right next door. I think this hotel will get better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We arrived and was unable to connect to their WiFi in room used it in the office the woman said no one else complained but we could not connect from 5 different devices. She explained what was going to be put out at breakfast. The next morning my children expected cereal as she said. Then she told us oh no we don't do that. Worst part is no hot water anywhere. New owners have not upgraded. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n2froggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buckeye Lake hotels

Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

i have read and re read the reviews. and i have to admit i was sceptic, however i am on a budget. i stayed in the jacuzzi suite, and it was a great room. it has a kitchenette, a full couch, a chair a huge king sized bed. i didnt notice any noises, and the staff was friendly and professional. the new owners are turning it around, please give it another chance.

Room Tip: if you are looking for luxury rent the suite. they gave it to me for 3nights regular rate the 4th ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxedo Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

cheap priced hotel and it looks that way- needs work and also overcharged me by 2 days, and if i didn't check my bank statement then they would've got add'l days out of me...........DON'T BOTHER IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO.......

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superbird540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I am a frequent business traveler and have stayed at many discount motel chains, but this motel is the worst one I have been to yet. First, there is a lot of noise and disturbance. One of my co-workers had his car keyed in the parking lot by another drunken guest. Secondly, my room was not very clean upon arrival and had a very noticeable smell. Third, free wi-fi is advertised but neither I nor my co-workers have been able to get a connection. Due to this, I had to fax in my timesheet to the office, and the front desk actually charged me for the fax! I don't know much about other Super 8 motels, but I would not recommend this particular location.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank an0n78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckeye Lake
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Pickerington
189 reviews
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
18.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus East Reynoldsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
16.5 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites - Columbus East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 10800 Hebron Rd, I-70 & State Route 79, Buckeye Lake, OH 43008-7712 (Formerly Super 8 Buckeye Lake)
Region: United States > Ohio > Buckeye Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckeye Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing