We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully maintained historical "village"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Village Museum

Century Village Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Burton
Attraction details
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained historical "village"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It's wonderful to see the results of careful attention to preserving local history in this collection of well-restored and maintained historical buildings of various types that have been brought together in this museum. We visited on a pleasant summer day in the middle of the week and enjoyed wandering around the "village", looking at the outsides of the buildings, peering through the windows, and reading the informational signs. The only building that was open, however, was the "general store" / gift shop. Although we were able to freely wander the grounds at no charge, it seems that guided tours [small charge] are available only on weekends. Although we enjoyed the experience, and admire the efforts of the Geauga County Historical Society staff and volunteers, I suspect we would have enjoyed it even more had we been able to experience one of the guided tours as well. The store is open Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday; tours are twice daily on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays [hours vary by season]. There are a number of festivals and special events scheduled throughout the year; details are available on the website.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RLane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting For All Ages To Visit and Learn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very interesting Village. Since I am a Senior Citizen, the one thing I especially appreciated was the benches, and grandstand, available places to sit and rest my feet and back. Where ever I go, places to sit and rest are very important to me. I want to say THANKS for having these available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great extra feature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This step back in time is well maintained and perfectly situated between the Red Maple Inn and the uptown square. Old houses, miniature train rides, frequent events.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TVBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Little town museum is big time tops!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

For a "museum" in a little town staffed mainly by volunteers, this place is great!!

Rather than one big stuffy building with dusty old paintings on the wall and withered artifacts behind glass, Century Village instead is an outdoor "town" of structures apropos to the day - the settlement and early years for this area, that is. They even have a wooden church in great shape that you can walk into that was actually used in the 1800s which was relocated here for preservation.

There is an admission fee that goes directly to their non-profit cause. Their "gift shop" is the town's general store in which you'll find period-proper snacks and trinkets.

Century Village has lots of events throughout the year. One of our favorites is the popular pancake breakfast in maple syrup season (around March each year) - one of their fundraisers. Another is their civil war era reenactment which includes soldier and civilian encampments. It's not all about the soldiers - who put on a series of excellent displays and battles - but other living historians who show you what it was like to live in pre-20th century America (weaving, washing laundry, cooking, etc.).

Other events include historical machinery which features some of the first tractors and farm equipment used long ago.

The site is located in the heart of Burton Township in Geauga County, on the southeast corner of the town square. This is where 87, 168, and 700 meet.

Again, a gem in such a small township, Century Village is tops!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PuuKaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Century Village Museum also viewed

 

Been to Century Village Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing