We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times at Salt Fork”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Mentor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great times at Salt Fork”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Our extended family met in 2008 and then again this summer for a week of family togetherness. We stay in the lakeside cabins, twice now several of them have been "chalets" which have hot tubs on the porches and screens to open the windows. The chalets have leather furniture in the living room, 2 bedrooms, small kitchen with supplies, 3/4 bathroom. We actually began these reunions in 1993, and have met several times since then. We have noticed a difference in the general upkeep of the cabins~ our recent trip found the porches looking like they needed to be made more sturdy, kitchen cabinets had broken drawers, shelves hanging on nails, etc. Just seem to be "worn" and we really hope that management will do an overhaul of these cabins soon. We plan to go back in 2012 and it would be great if they were updated. However, you cannot beat the beautiful views of the lake, the fishing right out your door, and the many great activities at the Lodge, including a gorgeous outdoor pool with plenty of lounge chairs, cabannas, baby pool, playground, shuffleboard, etc. It is a great place for a family vacation. We mostly eat our meals in our cabins, but an occasional takeout of their delicious french fries & chicken fingers, etc. for snacks while at the pool area. One thing to note though, most of these cabins are not easily accessible for those with limited mobility. The hillside cabins have many stairs leading up to them, the lakeside cabins & chalets have steep grounds to get to the lake, many steps leading to the cabins, etc. Just want to inform for those that this is an issue. It appears they do not have many cabins/cottages that are easily accessible for those with special needs. Overall, a great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dittodot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    147
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
214
141
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The cabins and lodge are spectacular. The pools and lake beaches are wonderful. My wife, children, lab and myself had an exhausting time hiking, swimming, exploring and what not. I would avoid the marina at ALL costs. The manager behaves boorishly and displays no respect for families or children.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Beautiful facility in state park. Large and clean pool with much. Else to do. Balcony overlooks wood, but cannot sit out there due to the noise of air conditioners all around. Internet access is $10 per device, reception mis-directed us to wrong wing. Very poor reservation system that took about 4 calls to make a reservation.

It is the little things that took away from the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

From beginning to end, our family had an enjoyable time. Everything was perfect and can't wait til we can go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonijmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We purposely selected Salt Fork because we wanted to take our older siblings / spouses to an Ohio state park. We were searching for a variety of activities - fishing, swimming, horseshoes, hiking - as well as amenities - large comfortable accommodations (hospitality suite), fridge, microwave, sitting area, porch. We'd chose Salt Fork because of the lovely slightly hilly area. The park grounds are secluded but close enough to major highways that an afternoon of gambling in Wheeling, WV was only an hour away. The park offers a ton of activities for all ages in a safe environment. While it may not be a plush 5-star metropolitan hotel, Salt Fork offers simple family fun at a very reasonable price. Our family is already looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyerFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed at Salt Fork Cabins. They were clean and well equipped. The outside included a park like grill, fire ring and picnic table. I would call it camping with luxury. We had a lake view and brought the boat for many lake activities. We enjoyed our time with four teens. From swimming, boating, and fishing to cooking s'mores and pizza over the campfire it was great.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank beachboatfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adena, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We love Salt Fork! We stayed with our Kids at the cottages last year, and this year my Husband and I returned for a weekend getaway. Always friendly staff and always great food in the restaurants! All the lake facilities are updated and clean! Our Kids love the pools and we love the hot tub and all the activities that Salt Fork offers families. Just good ol' fun! No stress and we will definately come back. Our favorite is renting the cottage and taking our boat. We feel like we are living on the lake! Are Kids are already asking when we are going back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kankan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cambridge
10.7 mi away
Pine Lakes Lodge B&B Resort and Conference Center
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Cambridge
65 reviews
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cambridge
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Cambridge
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Address: US Route 22 E, PO Box 7, Cambridge, OH 43725
Region: United States > Ohio > Guernsey County > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Salt Fork State Park can enjoy overnight accommodations at Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center. Conveniently located close to the intersection of Interstates 70 and 77, the lodge boasts 148 guestrooms, 54 cottages and eight meeting/conference rooms with a professional sales and catering staff. Also at the lodge you will find indoor/outdoor pools, a Jacuzzi, game room, fitness center, gift shop, lounge and full-service restaurant. Attractions and amenities at the park include an 18-hole championship golf course, nature center, two marinas, picnic area, seasonal hunting and fishing, boating, swimming and more. Whether you are planning a getaway for your family, a reunion with your classmates or a business conference away from the hustle and bustle of the city, Salt Fork provides the perfect atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Fork Hotel Cambridge
Salt Fork Lodge And Conference Center Cambridge, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing