We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back in time!”

St. Helena III Canal Boat Rides
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operated by the City of Canal Fulton and the Canal Fulton Heritage Society, the St. Helena III Canal Boat rides offer the public the chance to ride a replica cargo canal boat pulled by two work horses one mile south and back on the original Ohio & Erie Canal. The boat travels past the renovated McLaughlin Dry Dock and Lock 4. During the one hr ride, the crew steer with a rudder and poles while a historian on board provides facts and stories of life during Ohio’s canal era.
Waverly IA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Going back in time!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our group of six adults had a lot of fun going back in time when we rode the St Helena boat down the canal. We had a little trouble finding the departure site, but they held the boat a few minutes while we bought our tickets. Our guide was a young teen who said he was in training. He was excellent & humorous & answered the riders' many questions very well. We teased him a bit & he teased right back. Our boat was towed by a team of horses for a very smooth glide down the canal. We went a mile to the old lock site & the boat 'steerers' turned us around in the large pond area using long poles. It was slow & casual & very pleasant viewing beautiful gardens & wooded areas along the canal tow path. My brother-in-law was concerned about his horse allergy, but the horses were far ahead of the boat & he had no problems. We all enjoyed our little canal journey. The history relayed to us was very interesting & thought-provoking. We were so glad we made the effort to find this little Ohio canal & take our ride back into history. Thanks to the city of Canal Fulton & the heritage society who partner to put on this nostalgic, historic experience! We really enjoyed the 30 min video in the heritage center as well. The woman in the center was so accommodating & re-showed the film to our six as we didn't have time to view it before our boat ride (we got lost!).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MJHWaverlyIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Relaxing ride on the canal”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The cost to ride the St. Helena is 7 dollars per person. The boat usually departs twice a day; you can buy your tickets right there next to the dock for the boat at the visitors center. My family and I have taken this ride many times and we have enjoyed most of the rides. The ride can take anywhere from 45 minutes to a little over an hour. The boat can be enjoyed by both the young and old; however, I would recommend if you are taking a little one on the boat to make sure that they can handle the ride. Once on the boat, it does not stop. There are no bathrooms and there is no water available unless you bring your own. We've had a couple of times when small children are crying hysterically because they want off of the boat or have to go to the bathroom. Not fun, especially if you're not even fifteen minutes into the ride and were hoping for a quiet relaxing time. However, there are bathrooms in the visitors center where you buy your tickets. It can also get pretty warm if there's no breeze.

The ride is slow and relaxing, and most times they have an informative guide that describes the history of the canal and the boat. The people in the visitors center are very friendly and willing to answer any questions. There are a couple of restaurants and an ice cream place within walking distance as well. This is definitely worth checking out if you are in the area. It makes for a pleasant afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank funinthesun037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
313 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, good for the kids”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

What a pleasant way to spend some time -- quietly floating down the canal. This is a really nice ride that most kids will like. My only complaint is that I wish it could go on all afternoon.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Educational and fun”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very interesting and educational excursion! Boat moves slowly, so it's a good trip for kids and seniors, too.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank crosstobear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Fun”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

A step back in time. Makes you wonder how we ever got this far today and very glad we did!

Helpful?
Thank cyncity13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Helena III Canal Boat Rides also viewed

 

Been to St. Helena III Canal Boat Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing