We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Room smelled dirty. Carpet was very old and dirty. Bathroom floor was scummy with built up dirt in all the corners. The bathroom door needed to be removed because it wouldn't close. The refrigerator didn't work and had to be replaced; the replacement was so loud we couldn't sleep. When we turned on the air conditioning, it stunk. The free breakfast is manned by the personnel who also clean the rooms! The waffle mix was so runny that it spurted all over our clothing; we complained, but no apology and no change in the waffle mix was even offered. The same donuts and muffins were left there all week...the bagels were like rocks. No one was obviously eating them because they were stale. This hotel needs updating, better service, and a management who cares about their customers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36149, Manager at Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

I want to personally apologize for the issues that you experienced and I have discussed these issues with our Housekeeping and Maintenance staff. I am sorry that we did not deliver to your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Jackie Johnson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would rather grab a sleeping bag and sleep in a rescue mission than stay in this hotel again. I walked into my hotel room and it smelled like a gym. The desk hlep was average at best and for the price that I paid, I could have found a similar hotel with better accomodations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36149, Manager at Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear, Guest
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Room smelled like smoke, though is was a nonsmoking room. We called the desk and were told BW had a can of oder eliminator we could use, if we would come to the desk. No extra personal to deliver it or to check our room Couldn't control the air conditioning. It was freezing. No one came to fix it. The exercise equipment was broken, so the only exercise we got was swimming. We were very disappoint

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36149, Manager at Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear, Guest

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I heared your complained and like to apologize to you once again. In the August month, weather is very hot out side and as a default we keep all our room A/C is on. When guest arrives to a room, room will be cool and do not have to wait until the room gets cold. I am sorry that your room was cold and not warm.
Our all guest room A/C unit are easy and self control from heater to Air condition. it is very simple to do it. Also you said room was smelling like smoke, again i am very sorry for room but the hotel was sold out and could not switch you to another room. hotel did offer you can of airfreshner and still you did not happy so hotel give you as compensate 3450 Bestwestern reward points.
Again hotel staff and myself like to apologized to you.

Sincerely,
Arti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a very nice stay here. Lovely swimming pool & hot tub. Location was perfect. Friendly staff and nice clean room.
Easy access, premises clean, pool towels. Will definitely be staying here again when we visit family or go to the state fair.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were in town for a wedding and chose the BW Plus at Canal Winchester. I am usually apprehensive about staying at different locations but one step in the door and I felt right at home. We were greeted by Tammy, who had a friendly smile and a warm welcome. She exuded excellent customer service and care towards the guests (ourselves included). It is a beautiful property, clean rooms and a nice breakfast area. I would stay here again if I were to ever be in the area in the future. Great job to all at this location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36149, Manager at Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear, guest
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to know that you had a good experience with our staff and that your room was satisfactory. This immediate area is experiencing growth and more and more shops and restaurants are being built near the hotel. There are more "urban" areas about a mile down the road; however, our immediate location is safe and well maintained. We hope that you will consider staying with our property again if you return to Columbus.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Easy registration process, even though hotel was totally booked. We were a little concerned when told there was a nearby sports event that had a lot of people staying at the hotel, and also when we saw a portable barbecue unit sitting in the parking lot. But actually we didn't hear a peep outside or inside. The hotel's obviously been around for a while and the decor seems a little outdated; the back staircase smells either of too little ventilation or too much humidity. But compared to the quiet room and the comfortable sleep we got, those are only very minor considerations. Especially liked the welcoming attitude of the front desk, though we unfortunately didn't catch her name.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for business while in Columbus. We did not have a reservation, and Karen did every thing she could to get us the best price. The price we got was even better than online. Karen also helped me when I was having an issue with the lobby computer. She was very friendly from check in to check out. The rooms were nice especially having queen beds instead of usual doubles. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenClark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36149, Manager at Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear, Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to know that you had a good experience with our staff and that your room was satisfactory. We hope that you will consider staying with our property again if you return to Columbus.

Thank you
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canal Winchester
5.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites - Columbus East
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Pickerington
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus-East
Hampton Inn Columbus-East
#1 of 3 in Pickerington
386 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
3.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East

Address: 6323 Prentiss School Place, Canal Winchester, OH 43110 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Canal Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canal Winchester
Price Range: £76 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canal Winchester Hotel Canal Winchester
Canal Winchester Best Western
Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing