We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
La Peschiera(Monopoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Trappetello(Monopoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Borgo Egnazia(Savelletri)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel La Sorgente(Savelletri)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (307)
    Filter reviews
    307 results
    Traveller rating
    136
    93
    42
    14
    22
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    136
    93
    42
    14
    22
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsprivate beachcakesshort walkpool areayogurtfree shuttlemasseriacartaximonopoliwedding
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    23 - 28 of 307 reviews
    Reviewed 16 October 2013

    We stayed at the hotel in July and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Perfect position close to the sea yet nicely detached and quiet in its own grounds. The service was consistently superb - at the reception, in the restaurants and by the poolside - and the food was as fresh and delicious as we could have wished for. Dining in the hotel, at lunchtime and in the evening, is a must, and particularly in the lovely courtyard on warm evenings. We usually prefer a base in a picturesque town for the evening entertainment but it is well worth making an exception and booking a stay at this hotel.

    Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Chris R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 October 2013

    We stayed a few days at the Masseria ,which is a charming little hotel near Monopoli.It is only very difficult to find,because on the road there are no signs of the hotel and only when you get at the hotel there is a sign indicating that you arrived at destination.The hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly;our room was spacious and nice but lack a drawer cabinet with drawers to fit underwears,tea-shirts and so on;although we choosed a superior room it misses an arm-chair;
    The WI-FI that you get is sometimes working sometimes not and mostly in the room it was not working:very frustrating.To be around the pool is very relaxing ;it is calm without noises or music.
    The breakfast is not what you expect from a 5 star hotel: only 1 sort of white bread ,1 or 2 sort of cheeses (every day the same)
    To resume we we had a good time at the Masseria but it is not a 5 star hotel, it is worth probably a 3 to 4 star

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank abochner
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 September 2013

    We stayed at the Masseria in the first week of September and the overall impression was good. The hotel is well situated and very quiet which was what we were looking for. The decor is very minimalistic but it suits the atmosphere and the location of the hotel. I liked the fact that the rooms are located all over the hotel property, so you get to your rooms without having to go through the hotel. Everyone pretty much has their own entrance, which gives you a sense of privacy. It was very clean which was really important to me. When on holiday, you don't want to deal with dirty hotel rooms. I was perfectly happy with the cleaning standards of this hotel.

    The hotel greeted us with a bottle of really nice "bubbly" in our room as we were on our on honeymoon and that was a very nice gesture.

    The breakfast was fine. Juices, fruit, ham and cheeses, bread as well as pastries and cereal. It was presented in a lovely way and the tables outside offered a nice view while having breakfast. The only annoying thing was the number of kids running around, but that obviously it not the hotel's fault, but maybe worth mentioning if you are looking for a "adults only" hotel.

    The hotel has some sunbeds on a private beach (3-5min car drive) away, where the beds and an umbrella are included in the hotel price. This was really nice. I liked the sandy beach and the water was clean and cool. Facilities like toilets and showers are on site. There is also a little bar where you can get a fairly non expensive lunch and some refreshments, which adds to the comfort.

    We did dine at the hotel once which was OK, but did not excite us. The food was alright, but compared to the restaurants around probably not the best we had during our stay. I guess when in Puglia (or Italy in general) you expect more from a five star hotel restaurant.

    The pool is lovely and the sunbeds at the pool are nice and comfortable. Pool towels are provided. Everyone is friendly, but you don't see much staff around which is neither positive nor negative I guess. That brings me to the 5-star discussion that has been mentioned in many previous comments. I would say that it is a lovely 4-star hotel rather than 5 star in terms of service, food and facilities provided. I think if you are booking it with this in mind you will not be disappointed.

    Room Tip: Room no 27 was quiet and nice. A/C not too noisy. The wifi was a bit poor there though.
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank alanachunky
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 August 2013

    We stayed at masseria Donnaloia in September last year. Service was exceptional, food quite outstanding. The staff, in particular Francesco, were both helpful and informative about the masseria and region, which they are clearly passionate about. This is a great place to chill!

    Needless to say we return again this year.

    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Patrick D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 August 2013

    The location is fine, the decoration of the hotel is poor, the pool and its infrastructure are cheap, the rooms are like a 3 star hotel, the staff members were bad looking and the service is medium.
    It is not bad if you know youre going To a cheap hotel, but when I booked, they sold me a 5 star hotel at high rates...

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Filipa M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

    Dear Sir,

    You WERE a guest of a fortified farm in Puglia (see Wikipedia), faithfully restored to preserve the spirit of civilization of this land, an expression of our life in the XVII AND XVIII century, obtaining a 5 Star Resort, where the NECESSARY technological systems have been carefully hidden.

    You will agree that the effort was economically significant, both in terms of labor costs, both in terms of economic costs.

    What would you think of someone who suggested to change Leeds Castle with its dreaming spiers, built in 1199 for King Edward I, and used as a residence by Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon, lowering the spiers, plastering the outer walls and placing the tiles to give a bit of color?

    Sincerely.

    The manager.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews