We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, motel is updated and fresh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Celina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Celina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

For a trip to visit family, we stayed four nights. The room appeared to have been recently updated and the whole motel seemed fresh and cared for. The staff were all VERY nice and always helpful. I liked how clean and attended the breakfast room was.

A couple of small dissatisfactions…We were delighted with the first floor room, but in the night if someone walked around in the room above us, it sounded like they were in the room with us. The first time I heard it, I thought my husband had gotten up and was walking about in the room—it was rather odd.

Also, I was a bit surprised, that although I tipped daily, the floors were not vacuumed daily and some things, like the lamps were dusty, that sort of thing. Also they are pretty aggressive about not wanting to change your sheets and would like you to reuse your towels. When we arrived, there were two very worn down rolls of tp in the bathroom and they were never replenished. We ran out of toilet paper the morning we left and had to use Kleenex.

AND please get a better assortment of TV stations....a very budget selection.

But overall, it was fine, the staff were all lovely, and since it is the only viable chain motel in this resort town, I’m sure we will stay again.

Room Tip: If you want several days here -- book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, General Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for your input. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be used for training purposes. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Hotel was very quiet and clean. breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, General Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our facility. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your past stay. It is always nice to hear from our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

the staff there is excellent very friendly and helpful. room was very nice and clean. beds were comfortable. the pool area is very nice. we were there for the races that got cancelled so the lady at the front desk helped us look for something to do in the area which there wasnt anything. other than that the night was great. the breakfast was good with a variety of food. it is a quiet hotel. would definately stay again and recommend to everyone else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohioracefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, General Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Let me start by saying I stayed here in 2007, then again in 2010 for two weeks each time...what a HUGE improvement during the 2010 stay!

Customer Service: I personally felt the service here was great on both stays. The staff is friendly and smiling!

Comfort: The hotel was recently remodeled and the beds are now comfortable and the bedding feels nice. Several pillows are provided, both soft and firm. Towels are typical hotel towels.

Quiet: They must have taken care to reduce noise by adding insulation during the remodel..or something. I slept very well, barely heard a sound. I travel often on business and rarely sleep well because most Holiday Inns have thin walls. Wasn't a problem for me here this time. (In 2007, it was.) I slept better here than I have slept at a hotel in years!

Breakfast: I never eat the provided breakfast, but they serve the typical Holiday Inn fare, scrambled eggs, bacon, hot cinnamon rolls, whatever bread products you may desire, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, teas, coffee, and juices. My coworkers enjoyed it.

Elevator: No, still no elevator. If you aren't able to take your luggage up one flight of stairs, request a first floor room. The staff is friendly, they will oblige if they can.

In summary, the hotel was remodeled in 2008, so keep in mind experiences before and after that date may be quite different. I admit, I was a bit concerned about returning, but now that I have experienced it, I am happy to say they took the criticisms and improved upon the structure during the remodel.

And if you want GREAT food while staying here, try Bella's Italian Restaurant just down the road. Yummy and reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowBelters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, General Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is wonderful to see that our guests appreciate all the hard work that has gone into imrpoving our facility.

Another renovation is scheduled for this year, so more improvements are on their way. Hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Was in town with my husband, mom, brother, daughter, and grandson on Friday the 16th for my Uncles viewing/funeral, I am glad to say the Holiday Inn was great! The pool was clean and a warm 84 degrees. The Hot tub was hot and relaxing. The breakfast selection was very good. There was hot food along with the typical cold cereal and yogurts.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Employees were great. I am very glad that this place has moved up from the previous reviews. I almost cancelled our two rooms due to the old reviews. But since they were old, I took a chance and was VERY happy! There is a Walmart right across the street and several places to eat within a mile radius.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank KathyL6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2009

I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our facility. It is nice to hear that all of our hardwork is recognized. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

If you are looking for a great travel hotel while working, keep looking!

This hotel is about the biggest example of non-accomodations I have ever seen.

Breakfast is a joke- they stop putting out the one hot item- cinnamon rolls at 7- leaving later breakfast goers nothing but cereal and toast and seriously diluted juice.

I booked two rooms for a week, and was told when I got here that my request for a fridge and microwave would be honored- at $6 EACH PER DAY. Incredible.

No guest laundry- they will send out your dirty duds at an exhorbiant price- after all- there is no other way to get your clothes clean.

In conclusion, I will never ever, EVER stay at this dump again. I hope the management reads this and fixes a few things so that other people spending $1,000 here are not so bitterly disappointed.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank Paperchaser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, General Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2010

Our facility has gone through a remodel since this stay and have add the "Express Start Breakfast" which includes the hot food items that our guests wanted. We are also now 100% smoke-free and all the mattresses were new in the summer of 2007. Also all our King Executive rooms do offer the microfridge and microwaves. Thank you for making us aware of your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

This particular HI Express is simply not up to standard.

The breakfast buffet doesn't include the usual HI Express items and is poorly presented/maintained. The building itself is poorly constructed. Noise from the second floor goes right through the ceiling to the first floor, so book a second floor room. Unless you need an elevator to get to the second floor--there isn't one. Reception staff is indifferent. Then there is the noise from the Canadian geese on the "pond" behind the hotel, but that's OK because it drowns out the noise from the poorly maintained "through the wall" a/c units......There are other places to stay in Celina. Go there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FairfaxBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIECelina, General Manager at Best Western Celina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2010

The "Express Start Breakfast" which features the hot food items, such as scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon and sausage patties was added in April 2008.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celina
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Celina
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Saint Marys
146 reviews
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
24.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lima
2.6 mi away
Romer's Westlake Hotel Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Celina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Celina

Address: 2020 Holiday Dr, Celina, OH 45822-8344 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Celina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Celina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Celina
Price Range: £66 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Celina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the rich farmland of western Ohio, the Best Western(R) Celina has a location with an ideal setting to meet the needs of business and leisure guests. Adjacent to most local industries and close to all of the attractions in Celina, Ohio, this hotel's location is perfect for every traveler. There are a number of corporate destinations that are easily reached from the hotel. Celina, Ohio and its surrounding area include companies like Crown Equipment, Celina Insurance Group, Fanning Howey, CAPT, Reynolds and Reynolds and R.J. Corman. Commuting to businesses is made easy, as well, thanks to the hotel's proximity to State Route 29. Plenty of leisure activities are just a short drive from the hotel. Celina, Ohio hosts numerous summer festivals and country music concerts each year. Fox's Den Golf Course is located right next to the hotel and is open to the public. Guests can go fishing or boating at Grand Lake St Marys State Park nearby or visit students at Wright State University - Lake Campus. Visitors can also head over to Eldora Speedway and get their adrenaline pumping. The Best Western(R) Celina hotel has a beautiful, relaxing indoor pool and whirlpool, as well as the complimentary, hot Breakfast Bar. If you need to work out, our fitness center is available daily 5 am -9 pm. When you visit Celina, take advantage of the convenience we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Celina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Celina Hotel Celina
Celina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Celina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing