We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good food for an even worse value”

Bella's Italian Grille
Ranked #22 of 49 Restaurants in Celina
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: http://bellasitaliangrille.com/
ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not very good food for an even worse value”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you are going to make an attempt at higher end ( relative term) food , I am fine with paying higher prices. If you can't execute the dishes on your menu, then it's a fail. Salmon cooked medium should not be gray. Also, beware the upsell on everything , is this a restaurant or a used car lot? Server or salesman, I couldn't tell. Good location, nice view, good concept.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nextstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thumbs up on atmosphere and view, Thumbs down on food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very good service, nice atmosphere. Food leaves much be desired, though. I've been here several times and have only had one meal that was acceptable. Lunch was a better experience with a nice salad selection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Henry, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A quaint family restaurant with a nice view of Grand Lake. Service was excellent. Seating available in a quiet and comfortable lounge/bar with televisions or in a nicely decorated dining room. Fettuccine Alfredo was tasty (broccoli was a touch crunchy). Mushroom ravioli was very good. Servings were appropriately sized. Small loaf of bread with garlic butter and olive oil/vinegar is a nice touch. Not a 5 star restaurant, but I would have no concerns with recommending it to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnatDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We started our dinner with drinks from the bar, my Cosmo was very good, smooth! An app of stuffed mushrooms were suggested by our waiter and they were alright. Kind of bland, not bad. I would not order again tho. The bread and olive oil was good. I ordered the Chicken parm/eggplant parm entree. It was a huge serving, again, good,, but sauce was not as saucy or cheesy as I would like. It was around 7ish Sunday evening on our visit, the restaurant was pretty empty but service was good and it was a relaxing time. I will go again most likely because I have heard rave reviews about the place so I surely will try it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gail0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Needs a real Italian cook”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Yes, Bella's has a nice lake view and a friendly staff, but the food is subpar overall. My visit was with a group and they knew we were coming weeks in advance. The early arrivals could sit outside and they served drinks to us there. The lake is ringed with houses and marinas, although locals told us swimming is prohibited at times. The outside of the restaurant is weather beaten.

Once inside, we sat at nice tables in an oddly decorated area. Service was gracious and very very slow. Yes, a group appreciates the time to talk, but this was glacial -- some of us were there upwards of four hours.

Appetizers were underwhelming -- the stuffed mushrooms very strange. The bread was extremely under baked (white in color) and still raw dough. It seemed to be one of those frozen products. An good Italian restaurant should find a good local bread supplier or bake their own.

The main courses were hit or miss. Portion sizes were mid sized, not giant. My veal looked good, but did not have much flavor. Most of the group did not order dessert.

Choices beyond the chains are few in this area, so I can understand why locals go here. Long term, Bella's needs a good Italian chef to make this place a success.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Railhistoryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella's Italian Grille also viewed

 

Been to Bella's Italian Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing