We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
Nearby Hotels
US$135
US$122
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
270
54
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
54
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskpancake machinebreakfast barsoccer tournamentworkout roomexcellent hotelroom was spotlessvisit familybagelsbiscuits and gravygreat roomstaff was friendlymorning breakfastrestaurants and shoppingbreakfast was deliciousgreat place to stayfree breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

At the time of my stay the hotel was barely 8 months old. It's design is part of the chain's new look initiative and it evokes simplicity and modern European furnishings in the rooms.

The bed is very comfortable with ample reading light in-built nightstands. Opposite the bed you have a big wall unit complete with TV and desk area. While there is no plug panel you can easily find the HDMI port on the TV to watch content from your iOS device.

Cleanliness of the room was great and the only complaint I had is that the towels are already showing some wear. It's a shame that with everything else of great quality it seems some corners were cut in the linen department.

Breakfast in the morning is typical HIE fare complete with their famous cinnamon rolls. They also have a pancake machine that will keep the kids entertained.

Overall I love this property and plan to stay here again on my next trip. It's a bit out of the way if you're visiting Downtown Dayton but the low-key, quiet office park that surrounds this HIE makes it a nice retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

griff72,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel to the Dayton area. I really appreciate your kind words as well as valuable input. We always like to hear any and all areas that we can improve for our guest and assure you that we are looking into the towels. Thank you again for your very kind words and we look forward to seeing you really soon.

Best,

Mike Hyslope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were treated like family by the staff. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and brand new and modern. Rooms are awesome for the price you pay, and still affordable. Breakfast was great and had many options. The entire hotel was immaculately clean also!!! Only thing i would recommend to the management is to not let employees smoke outside. They were smoking right at the front door and by the car pull in, which can be an eye sore. Also, i would say the same for guests. Overall, great stay though!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandit97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

bandit97,

I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with our property. While we appreciate hearing all of the great and wonderful things about our hotel, we also do appreciate very much to hear about what we could do better. You can rest assured I have addressed the smoking issue and assure you that is not happening anymore with the staff members. I am very happy that everything else with your stay was wonderful and we look forward to seeing you once again on your next trip to Dayton.

All the best,

Mike Hyslope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from an overnight road trip to the National Air Force air and space museum in Dayton. Which I highly recommend. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express even though it is about 15 miles from the museum since it was rated number one on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. They hotel looks pretty new, (the whole area did) and has a modern decor. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The girls at the front desk were very helpful in recommending a place for dinner, The Chophouse, which was right next door, in fact we just walked over. The food was delicious and the service was great. One tip, get there before 6:00 otherwise there looks like there was a wait. We had a great visit and would not hesitate to stay at this Holiday Inn Express again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We requested the 4th floor away from the elevators, since other travelers on Tripadvisor had posted that tip. Our request was granted and we had a very quiet stay.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

LLP57,

It is great to hear that you both enjoyed the Air Force Museum as well as our property, and we are glad that we held up our number one ranking on Trip Advisor. A lot of our guest do utilize the Chop House since it is so close to us. It is great to hear that the staff was so helpful in getting directions for you. Thank you again for staying with us and if you do come back to Dayton, we look forward to hosting you once again.

Thank you,

Mike Hyslope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed one night while on road. Hotel was clean and overall a great stay with no issues. Used fitness center which was clean and nice. Ate at Chop House right next door and meal was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AU_BeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

AU_beachbum,

Love the screen name as I would love to be one myself! Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave a positive comment about out hotel, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through.

All the best,

Mike Hyslope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was one of the best we've stayed at - rooms were great size (we had four people) and never once stumbled over one another! Breakfast was always hot and very good! Lobby area is decorated in new chic colors - beds were comfortable - nothing but good things and the value for your money can't be beat!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brickettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

brickettes,

Thank you for stopping by to leave your feedback on our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, and wonderful hot breakfast. We look forward to you staying with us again if you are in the area in the future.

Thank you,

Mike Hyslope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews