We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay and the food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chardon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bass Lake Taverne & Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chardon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved my stay and the food”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am a local Clevelander who had never visited Bass Lake. I was fortunate to have business in that area and stayed at the inn for two nights. In addition to staying at the inn I ate all my meals at the tavern. I was blown away by the quality of the rooms, gorgeous!. I ate there 4 times and did not have one bad meal. The staff were friendly. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4amigosCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    53
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
38
113
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I had eaten at the Bass Lake Tavern several times before and had always enjoyed our dinners there. This was our first time to stay at the Inn. The king suite that we had was delightful! The gas fireplace and whirlpool were both enjoyed by us and the spacious room is nicely decorated too. There is no "formal" breakfast available but the room contains a basket of food items that will help you begin your day, as well as the coffee maker in the room. We took advantage of a package deal that included one night's stay and a $50 gift card to use at the Tavern. We plan to go back someday soon.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KAREEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived and thought Bass Lake Inn was very tranquil set in a pastoral setting. The room was quite nice and having a fireplace for ambience was appreciated. The view was peaceful and the back patio charming to say the least. The room was very nice, well appointed and comfortable. I enjoyed my time in the jacuzzi on more than one occasion! The only thing that spoiled the stay was the lack of sound proofing, the first night we heard 'creak creak creak' from people walking and who seemed to stay still for a minute at most, muffled voices added to this, all well past 11 pm. The second night was a little better. Perhaps a room on the upper level would have helped? I like my quiet! Having said this the Inn was a welcomed retreat and enjoyed by both of us!

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the upper level?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactus-wrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

In a word- OUTSTANDING! Both the Inn and the Tavern are superb. The rooms are well appointed, and they have thought of everything. The menu at the Inn (dinner on a Saturday night) was varied, and everything we ordered and shared was perfectly prepared, We have already booked a return trip in the spring!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed just one night after the Chardon BrewFest. Good location - the staff was very friendly. Our room was on the first floor, was very spacious. The bathroom is huge and room is well-appointed. Mini-fridge, wet bar, microwave. Your breakfast basket is in room upon your arrival, it is nothing special. I don't consider this a B&B because their idea of breakfast is 2 individually-wrapped sara lee muffins, a couple of granola bars, 2 small packages of corn flakes, and there's some milk, orange juice, and bottled water in the fridge, 2 apples, there's also 2 small packages of goldfish crackers. Enough coffee for one small pot of just average coffee.

We did not eat at the taverne, checked out the prices and decided on going to Noce Gourmet Pizzeria on the square instead, so cannot comment on the food at the Taverne.

My only real complaint regarding our stay is the beds. The most uncomfortable, overly-firm mattress I have ever had the displeasure of sleeping on. I mean, so firm that while I was sleeping (which wasn't for long) I even dreamt that I was sleeping on a concrete slab. The pillows were as firm as the mattress, and I didn't know it was possible to have a pillow that felt like concrete. My husband tends to like a firmer mattress than I do, but even he agreed with me that it was quite uncomfortable. Thankfully there is a whirlpool tub in the bathroom, which I took full advantage of in the morning to help myself feel alive again.

If it weren't for the mattresses and pillows, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved the food here as I only ate dinner here with a few friends! I thought the menu was a bit pricey but the service and food made up for it.

I would eat here and maybe next time even spend the night here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabiy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I will always consider Chardon my hometown as I lived there the first 22 years of my life. I recently made a trip there and stayed at the Inn for the first time. I've eaten at their fabulous restaurant many times but never had the occasion to stay at the Inn until now. I loved it! The room was spacious and clean and there were so many items for the continental breakfast. My dad and his friends used to spend many hours on this golf course, and I could see that over the years not much has changed there. It's still a beautiful, well-maintained course and there were lots of golfers.

Room Tip: King room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chardon
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
13.0 mi away
Stonehill Hotel & Suites Cleveland- Eastlake
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
12.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland East / Mayfield Village
14.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood
Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayf...
#1 of 3 in Mayfield Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Lake Taverne & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Lake Taverne & Inn

Property: Bass Lake Taverne & Inn
Address: 400 South Street, Chardon, OH
Region: United States > Ohio > Chardon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chardon
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bass Lake Taverne Hotel Chardon
Bass Lake Taverne And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing