We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the area”
Review of Bass Lake Tavern

Bass Lake Tavern
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Chardon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Service was wonderful but it can get crowded on the weekends! Nice place to have a drink and socialize too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KerwinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    52
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
763 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Great, With Country Lodge Atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Bass Lake Tavern is somewhat of an institution in Chardon. It's one of the better restaurants in the area, but I wish it were just a little better.

Bass Lake is decorated like a country lodge, with lots of wood, including paneled walls, dark green carpeting, and lodge-like furnishings and fixtures. The restaurant is divided into two main areas. There is a large pub-style bar on one side, and a brick fireplace (with a real fire, as I recall) in the dining room area. It all seems somewhere between charmingly rustic or a little dated.

The have a large number of offerings, including beef, chicken, and fish. On occasion they will have game offerings, but it really depends on what is available at the time of your visit. I thought the food was solid and good, but nothing spectacular.

We've eaten here several times with mixed service. We did have one occasion where the service was unaccountably slow, but generally it is at least competent. Again, good, but not great.

TripAdvisor's ratings go from "average" to "very good" and I wish they had a "good" category, where this would fit neatly. I would go back here again, but simply for a good meal and a nice time out, not because I expected anything especially memorable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and good service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bass Lake Tavern is my "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. Food and service is always first rate.

Had a birthday party there for my wife that was enjoyed by all in attendance.

Did I mention the great atmosphere?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Afternoon Lunch”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Awesome! We usually cook at home but decided to take 19 people here! We eat here regularly BUT never for Easter Sunday! GREAT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KIOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It depends”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We dine here three or four times a year. The food is mostly above average and the service can range from excellent to very slow. Much depends, I think. on whether there is a private party upstairs. I have never experienced poorly prepared food but the timeliness of the service is what is most unpredictable. This restaurant has many regulars and I am not sure if they get better service than occasional or one time diners.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bass Lake Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing