We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in Ahmish country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guggisberg Swiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Charm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming in Ahmish country”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Beautiful location in Ahmish country. Room well equipped, staff extremely nice and helpful. It's a country inn so don't expect 5star hotel amenities. Wifi was only possible in lobby so we worked with that. Breakfast area looks out onto beautiful pond, swings, gazebo, wishing well are with lots of ducks and 2 swans. They follow you for food. Was so cute to watch grandson feed them. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldork39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    32
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
65
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malinta OH
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a small clean hotel, but it is outdated. It has a wonderful view. The beds are very uncomfortable! nothing seems to match in the rooms as far as colors/themes and they have little notes taped all over about taking items, or how things work, it is annoying. They offer cheese and crackers and cookies in the evenings and have a decent breakfast, I would like to see the meat offered on the side not with the eggs for those of us allergic to eggs. But free breakfast is always a plus. You don't get many tv channels and with everything closed in the evenings that would be nice to be able to get more tv channels. This is the old motel style...with keys not keycards, so you have to remember to lock your door or it will be open to anyone!

Room Tip: all of the rooms face the front of the hotel so they all have the same view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woltmannfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A trip to the Amish country means a stay at the Guggisberg Swiss Inn. We stay one place and only one place and the Inn is it. Thanks again and hope to see you all soon. Keep up the good work. A+++.

Curt

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I think the place is great. I have been there several different years. Out in the country away from the "ratrace" which I prefer. Im a country girl so I enjoy all the animals although the only one I saw this time was a rabbit. Owners and staff all very friendly. The rooms are not all that fancy but clean and spacious.
I really like the stay two nights and get third night free!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

all i can say is, wow!, this will be a lifelong memory. we got lucky--arrived there on a wednesday night in mid-december for an overnight and after a stop at the guggisberg cheese shop, and then a cheese fondue dinner at the Chalet across the street, we hustled back to the Inn for sleigh rides. over the hills and through the fields, pulled by two beautiful horses adorned with jingle bells...a crisp, clear moonlit night. i will surely never forget this night and recommend that you go there in the winter and hope for snow!

Room Tip: try to get the suite on the 2nd floor closest to the lobby...it had a cathedral ceiling and huge bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Township, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a wonderful time visiting Amish country over Thanksgiving 2013. We stayed @ the Guggisberg Swiss Inn, Charm, Ohio that was extremely clean and very comfortable. The
Innkeepers were very pleasant and always willing to do whatever was necessary to make our
experience memorable! Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Evening snack was also offered
which was a nice touch especially after a long day of exploration and shopping through Berlin, Ohio and surrounding areas. I'd recommend Guggisberg Swiss Inn to anyone wanting to visit
Holmes County in the future !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This place is quite charming and the lobby is beautiful. In the evening they have cheese and crackers and other snacks for guests to enjoy. Breakfast -included - was eggs in ham cups, grits with cheese, rolls, muffins, cereals, teas, coffee, juices. Rooms a bit dated but clean and roomy. Owner and her daughter -such a delight to talk to. When booking don't miss dinner with an Amish family. It was awesome. You literally go to an Amish home and they've prepared dinner for you. An amazing experience.

Room Tip: We had 107 on the end. Quiet and away from the noise by the front entrance. No elevators so reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charm
2.6 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
282 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
310 reviews
2.6 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#3 of 4 in Millersburg
74 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
155 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guggisberg Swiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guggisberg Swiss Inn

Property: Guggisberg Swiss Inn
Address: 5025 State Route 557, PO Box 1, Charm, OH 44654-9440
Region: United States > Ohio > Charm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit on top of a hill overlooking the beautiful Doughty Valley. Ultimate in rest adn relaxation. Horses roaming the grounds, duck pond, free wifi, Hot Breakfast included with all rooms. Refrigerators, iron and ironing board, TV and Satellite Channels, in room coffee. Guided trail rides in the summer by appointment. Winery on Premise. GPS address is 5025 State Route 557, Millersburg, Ohio 44654 but is one mile north of Charm, Ohio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing