We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Circleville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penguin Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Circleville B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disgusted”
Reviewed 6 January 2005

I would not recommend this facility to anyone!! My husband and I had to cancel for unforseeable reasons and we were charged a $100 fee after the innkeeper had agreed that there would be no cancellation fee. I later found the charges on my bank statement and phoned the facility to discuss the issue and received very rude service and the innkeeper actually hung up on me! I am currently filing a formal complaint with the better business bureau and my bank due to the fact that they had no authorization to charge my account.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Penguin Crossing Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2005
"Disgusted" did indeed lodge a complaint with the Better Business Bureau of Central Ohio, the Attorney General of Ohio, and her credit card company. We responded to all three with information, supporting data, copies of policies and other documentation. In all cases, the file was closed in our favor.

The issue was not a cancellation fee. We never charged them for the room or for cancelling in less than 24 hours. Even though our policy allows it and was recognized by the 3 bodies mentioned above.

The real issue was she asked us to get a licensed massage therapist for them for an hour. We reserved the time for the massage by hiring out this service. When the cancellation was noted, the therapist did not charge us the full amount as a courtesy, so we only billed what was agreed upon at his hiring.

The credit card company, the AG, and the BBB recognized this as acceptable business practice and thus they closed the complaint file in our favor.

Thank You,

Allan C Colgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Circleville hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
4.0 mi away
The Mitchell House Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Circleville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Property: Penguin Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3291 State Route 56 W, Circleville, OH 43113-9622
Region: United States > Ohio > Circleville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Circleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing