We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel at home with breakfasts like my mom used to make.”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Teqisquiapan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Feel at home with breakfasts like my mom used to make.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

You feel like you are staying at the home of rich relatives. Be sure to pay the extra for one of the master suites! The breakfasts are excellent and yummy. The location is perfect for the museums, theater, restaurants, and Little Italy is close by. We have stayed on 3 occasions now and are treated as though we were close family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    176
    42
    22
    16
See reviews for
139
259
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Glidden House is an excellent hotel in the University Circle area of Cleveland. It is close to the highway and easy to find. The rooms and hotel are overall clean. The bathroom walls could use a wash (although this is barely noticeable). The only complaint I have is that we could not reach room service on a Saturday night. Make sure you call the number to the L'Albatross restaurant (the number is on the small laminated menu on the desk in the room). The phone number in the Glidden House directory is incorrect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EADfromCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay! The staff was wonderful and the breakfast second to none! Tis place is within walking distance to several museums and a lovely garden. My daughter enjoyed jogging around the neighborhood and we were able to walk to some great restaurants in Little Italy.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carefulwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong staying at the Glidden House. Located steps from the botanical gardens and art museum which I also highly recommend. Our favorite restaurant, L'albatros is just steps away as well.

The rooms are nice sized, clean, and with some luxury touches such as leather pillows (in addition to the normal bed pillow).

It is a quiet location. They serve a wonderful complimentary breakfast. They have a bar in site and while small they have plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy.

All in all a great place to stay. Cleveland has a lot to offer and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Glidden House Inn is housed in a protected historic site building in the heart of Cleveland's academic area, adjacent to Case Western Reserve, Cleveland Clinic and University Hospital.
The environs feels like a college community- beautiful houses, gardens made for a handsome approach.
The hotel feels like a hybrid small boutique hotel and very elegant B & B.. The decor is traditional, much wood, upholstered settees in sitting areas. Our room was handsome, wall papered and very well appointed. Clean comfortable. But what stands out for us was the service. A very courteous gentlemanly concierge met us at the door and assisted us get our things into our room: I am currently with limited mobility so the help was deeply appreciated. At night we spent an enjoyable more than an hour's time in the small, intimate dark wood appointed bar managed by a capable bartender who acted like a good host so that those of us at the bar were quickly pulled into conversation which was the kind of experience we enjoy when staying at B&Bs.
The breakfast buffet was full, with breads, sweet pastries, fresh fruit, yoguurt, well cooked oatmeal with all sorts of sugars, raisins an such to add in. Good Coffee, juice..served on tables with linen clothes in a comfortable dining room with large windows overlooking the lush lawn.

Can you tell that hubby and I were highly inpressed ? This is where we should like to return when in Cleveland..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for an overnight visit and enjoyed it immensely. The hotel is in the former Glidden family mansion with a new extension for part of the hotel. Our room seemed new and was furnished beautifully and was extremely clean with nice amenities. Parking was free with a lot adjacent to the hotel. The hotel is in a lovely neighborhood with nice landscaping and flowers.
We did not eat the free breakfast as we wanted to sleep in and breakfast ended at 9am during the week (a little early for us). Instead, we walked a few doors away and had lunch at the wonderful restaurant, "L'Albatros", where we had dinner the night before.

Room Tip: The beds were so high that a step stool would have been helpful. This was our only negative comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Mainly this lost a dot because the wifi is SO WONKY and there is NO CELL SERVICE. Trying to work is frustrating because the wifi comes and goes; and forget about making or receiving a call on your cell phone! (or texting, tweeting, etc) There also aren't any hairdryers in the rooms...

But overall, the place is a beautiful mix of old world home and modern day hotel. It was clean & the service attentive and polite.
I enjoyed my stay despite the technical glitches and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing