We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed just one night, but had a nice experience. The hotel itself is beautiful with ornate woodwork and that classic look. The room we stayed in was nice, nothing fancy but allowed us to have a nice experience. The only thing that I would have liked to seen differently is that there was no room service being that our stay was on Sunday. Few choices for food available in the area since most are family run and shut down. The ones that are open are very busy. Breakfast was very nice and had a nice selection. Would stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoveTheeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear LoveTheeUSA,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. i am happy to tell you that we will begin Sunday room service on June 15th.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Glidden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Glidden House is a perfect refuge while visiting Cleveland. We were looking for a nice place, not just a room in a chain hotel. We got it. Glidden House is a beautiful old home, that's become a lovely inn. The staff was very friendly and the room was welcoming and clean. We loved the surrounding area on Case Western Reserve. We didn't get to visit the botanic garden, but "maybe next time". My only complaint is that the breakfast is a bit boring......and the eggs are all over done. Aside from that, Glidden is perfect.

Room Tip: as for a room overlooking the gardens....although our view was obstructed by the tent put up for the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evanscaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear evanscaribbean,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Glidden House. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed stay.
We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Glidden has been our first choice of stay for the past four years when visiting our student son. We have always had an excellent experience: the beds are great, rooms spacious, breakfasts delicious (especially considering that they are included in the room rate), free and plentiful parking on the premises and last and most importantly perfectly located in the University Circle. The fact that there is a special rate offered to families of students also indicates their willingness to go the extra mile. A special mention must be made of Laura Williams who, when we thought we were arriving in the early hours of the morning, offered us access to our room 8 hours before check-in at no extra cost, arranged for us to have our favourite room and was true to her word when she said we were on top of the waiting list for the one night (commencement) when the hotel was unable to accommodate us. What a pleasure to deal with someone so efficient and pleasant. So sorry that our son has finished up in Cleveland but if anything other than him could draw us to Cleveland it would be Glidden House!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor for quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubafan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently took an overnight trip to visit "Little Italy" just outside of Cleveland Ohio. We stayed at a beautiful Inn called "The Glidden House". Within walking distance were restaurants, an art museum, a history museum, and gardens. The Inn is beautiful, our room was beautiful and comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious while served in a wonderful setting. Will definitely stay there again as it rained and we were not able to visit the gardens.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, but it was more like a regular room with a large bath.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattycakes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Pattycakes68,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting Little Italy.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location on University Circle. University Circle contains most of the museums and symphony hall. Glidden House is a 15 minute walk to Little Italy. Great little bar that is open from about 2pm - 12am. Ed, the bartender, is terrific. This is a grand old mansion from the early 1900's that was owned by the Glidden Paint family. Off street & valet parking is great. Check in and out was smooth. Breakfast is average at best. Steam table poached eggs and bacon, pastries, juice, coffee etc. There's no full service breakfast diner nearby. Our ground floor room was not noisy. We would definitely stay here again but would try for a suite instead of a queen room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear PeterV,
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit during your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.
We look forward to your next visit!
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The glidden house is no more expensive than a chain hotel and well worth it. The location to botanical gardens, museums and little Italy is fantastic. Excellent breakfast - staff is very helpful and respectful of privacy. The history and the ambiance is charming. Walk anywhere from here - loved it we I'll visit again .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pecpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Pecpmc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Glidden House. We look forward to your next visit!
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I was in Cleveland to see one of my favorite bands play. This was my first time in Cleveland and knew little about the hotel. Very happy that I chose to stay at Glidden House. Convenient location and excellent service. The breakfast buffet, that is included in the cost of the room was very nice and the atmosphere was charming. Won't think of staying anywhere else next time I find myself in Cleveland.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoneBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear RoneBurbank,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Glidden House! We hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Cleveland.

Best,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: £128 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing